Link to CCU Home Page
Link to Quick Links
Link to Search Link to CCU Home Page
Academics
spacer image
 
Untitled-3
Catalog Home Graduate Bulletin University Administration Board of Directors Campus Map
Catalog - Coastal Carolina University

FEES AND EXPENSES

Coastal Carolina University reserves the right to alter any of the following charges without notice when deemed necessary. All charges are due and payable on the date that they are incurred, or the due date indicated on the ticket, invoice, or statement. Checks for the exact amount of the total charges should be made payable to Coastal Carolina University. Any student who fails to pay all required registration fees on or before the cancellation date will be dropped from the class rolls.

A student who fails to relieve any other indebtedness to the University or to any of its auxiliary agencies on the date such obligations become due and payable may not be permitted to attend classes, take final examinations, or be issued a transcript, diploma, degree, grade reports, or any other official statement.

RESIDENT STATUS FOR TUITION & FEES

Coastal Carolina University is required under guidelines enacted by South Carolina Legislature to determine the residence classification of applicants and students for purposes of fees and tuition. The initial determination of one's resident classification is made at the time of admission. Students seeking a change to a South Carolina resident classification for tuition and fee purposes must complete the Application for Classification as a South Carolina Resident for Tuition and Fee Purposes.

Persons applying for resident classification must complete a residency application and supply supportive documentation at least three weeks prior to the fee payment deadline for the applicable term to allow sufficient time for a decision to be made. Persons who submit residency applications less than three weeks prior to fee payment deadlines for applicable terms may be required to pay out-of-state fees.

The rules regarding the establishment of legal residence for fee and tuition purposes at the University are governed by the Code of Laws of South Carolina. Under the law, residence for fee and tuition purposes can be established by an independent citizen or by certain aliens. There are also provisions in the law applicable to the resident classification of dependent persons. Generally, the resident status of a dependent person is based on the resident status of the parent, spouse or guardian upon whom the dependent person is financially dependent.

Inquiries regarding residency requirements and determinations should be directed to the Admissions Office, Coastal Carolina University, P.O. Box 261954, Conway, SC 29528-6054, (843) 349-2026.

ACADEMIC FEES Application Fee

Every new applicant will be charged a non-refundable fee of $45; exceptions to, or relief from, this charge may be made for certain special categories of admission. All applications must be accompanied by the application fee.

FALL AND SPRING SEMESTER ACADEMIC FEES (2003/04)

Graduate
Fees

1. Course fees, South Carolina resident; per credit hour $215.00
2. Course fees, non-resident; per credit hour $540.00

Course Auditing

Auditors may take any course with departmental approval and pay full fees for such a course.

SUMMER ACADEMIC FEES (2003/04)

Graduate

1. Course fees, South Carolina resident; per credit hour $215.00
2. Course fees, non-resident; per credit hour $540.00

Course Auditing

Auditors may take any course with departmental approval and pay full fees for such a course.
Failure of a student to properly register and appear on class rolls and failure to pay tuition disqualifies the student from receiving credit for any course work, even if the student attends class and takes exams and earns a grade with the permission of the instructor.

Fee Changes

Coastal Carolina University reserves the right to change fees when deemed necessary, based upon approval by the Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees and approved State policies.

RESIDENCE HALL FEES (2002-2003)

Residence Hall fees per semester (includes meal plan and
Health Service Referral Fee) $2,885.00

Summer Residence Hall Fees (2003-2004)

  1. Residence Hall Housing Application fee (non-refundable) $40.00
  2. Residence Hall fees for weeks not included in semester rentals $95.00
  3. May Semester (3 week session) $285.00
  4. May Semester (4 week session) $380.00
  5. Summer I. $475.00
  6. Summer II $475.00
  7. Summer 8-week $760.00
Fee Changes

Coastal Carolina University reserves the right to change fees when deemed necessary, based upon approval by the Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees and approved State policies.

Insurance Fees

Student health and accident insurance is optionally available to all registered students. It may be purchased at any time, on a prorated basis, during the academic year. University insurance is mandatory for international students attending on student visas and must be purchased at the time of registration.

OTHER FEES

Applied Course Fees

Students taking certain music classes will pay an applied fee, per course $125/$150.00

Diploma Application Fee $25.00

Duplicate Registration Certificate Fee

Replacement student identification card $10.00

Health Service Referral Fee (for non-residence hall students) $65.00

Laboratory Fees

Selective courses which have special and unique costs for instructional
supplies and other expenses directly associated with the course will
carry a lab fee minimally to be, per course $25/$45.00

Parking Fees

Vehicle per School Year (12 months) $12.00
Vehicle per Spring and Summer Semesters $6.00
Residence Hall Student per School Year $6.00
Second Vehicle per School Year $3.00
Replacement Decal $5.00
Baseball Field Parking Lot Decal (Restrictions Apply) Free

Technology Fee

Students enrolled for six or more credit hours will pay a technology fee for each semester $40.00

Transcript Fee

Up to twelve (12) official transcripts per student per calendar year at no charge. A non-refundable fee of $5 per copy must accompany subsequent requests for official transcripts made within the same calendar year.

FINES

Returned Check Fee $25.00
Monthly Payment Plan late fee $25.00

Library

Lost book charges: Cost of book ($25.00 minimum plus accrued fees)

Fee Changes

Coastal Carolina University reserves the right to change fees when deemed necessary, based upon approval by the Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees and approved State policies.

Collection Costs

Collection costs incurred on a delinquent account are the responsibility of the student.

Senior Citizens

An applicant who is 60 years of age or older and a resident of South Carolina may enroll in classes free of charge, providing there is available space in the class. A special senior citizen application must be completed in the Office of Admissions.

Academic Fees Refund Schedule

Academic fees are refunded (1) to students who withdraw completely from the University, (2) to part-time students who drop a course or courses, and (3) to students who are reclassified as part-time students as a consequence of dropping a course or courses according to the following schedules. Refunds due directly to the student will be applied first to the student's unpaid charges.

Policy for Withdrawal Refunds

Students who withdraw from the institution will be given a refund on the basis of either 1) University refund calculation (students who do not receive Title IV Federal Financial Aid), or 2) University refund calculation and Return of Title IV Funds Policy (students who receive Title IV Federal Financial Aid). Both refund calculations conform to federal regulations set forth by the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended by the Higher Education Amendments of 1998 (Public Law 105-244 approved on Nov. 1, 1999).

The Return of Title IV Federal Funds Policy applies only to students at the University who are recipients of Title IV Federal Financial Aid. A copy of the Return of Title IV Funds Policy worksheet is available in either the Office of Financial Aid or the Bursar's Office.

The University policy applies to all other students who withdraw from the institution. The refund schedules are published in the Master Schedule of Classes for each semester. Any financial aid for which the student was eligible prior to withdrawal but which has not been disbursed will be cancelled and returned to the source.

Right of Petition

A student who seeks relief from established refund policies because of unusual individual circumstances may submit a petition of appeal to the Office of the Registrar. The Appeals Committee will review the petition, make a determination, and notify the student in writing.

FALL 2003

From Start of Advance Registration through Tuesday, August 26 100%
From Wednesday, August 27 through Tuesday, September 2 90%
After Tuesday, September 2 - No Refund

The following dates are for complete withdrawal only.

From Wednesday, September 3 through Monday, September 15 50%
From Tuesday, September 16 through Friday, October 10 25%
After Friday, October 10 - No Refund

NOTE: To ensure accuracy of billing, full-time students who are dropping and adding classes should first add a class or classes and subsequently complete the drop procedure.

University Refund Schedule For Fall I, Fall II And All Special Classes Less Than The Normal 16-Week Schedule

100% - the first and second day after the class begins
90% - the third and fourth day after the class begins
After the fourth day of class - No Refund

SPRING 2004

From Start of Advance Registration through Tuesday, January 20 100%
From Wednesday, January 21 through Tuesday, January 27 90%
After Wednesday, January 28 No Refund

The following dates are for complete withdrawal only.

From Wednesday, January 28 through Friday, February 6 50%
From Monday, February 9 through Friday, March 5 25%
After Friday, March 5 - No Refund

NOTE: To ensure accuracy of billing, full-time students who are dropping and adding classes should first add a class or classes and subsequently complete the drop procedure.

University Refund Schedule For Spring I, Spring II And All Special Classes Less Than The Normal 16-Week Schedule

100% - the first and second day after the class begins
90% - the third and fourth day after the class begins
Afer the fourth day of class - No Refund

University Refund Schedule For May Semester, Summer I, Summer II
And All Special Classes Less Than The Normal 16-Week Schedule

100% - the first and second day after the class begins
90% - the third and fourth day after the class begins
After the fourth day of class - No Refund

Residence Life Fees Refund Schedule

Requests for cancellations must be submitted in writing directly to the Office of Residence Life. For information regarding housing refunds, one should refer to the specifics as outlined in the original housing contract.

Link to CCU Home Page
University Policies | Site Policies | Contact Us
© 2014 Coastal Carolina University | P.O. Box 261954, Conway, SC 29528-6054 | +1 843-347-3161