facebook icon twitter youtube

FACULTY

Faculty and Staff Directory, with Images

 

Faculty and Staff

Karen M. Aguirre

Karen M. Aguirre
Associate Professor & Associate Dean of Science
SCI 124A
843-349-4159
kmaguirr@coastal.edu

Teaching:  Cell Biology (BIOL 340), Cell Biology Laboratory (BIOL 340L), Immunology (BIOL 405), Immunology Laboratory (BIOL 405L)

Research: Immunology of infectious diseases of the central nervous system; protein structure/function of extracellular matrix


Photo Not Available

Anthony Audino
Lecturer
SCI 221
843-349-2013
aaudino@coastal.edu

Teaching:  Human Anatomy and Physiology I Lab (BIOL 232L)

Research


Photo Not Available Michelle Barthet
Teaching Associate
SCI 221A
843-349-2013
mbarthet@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Fundamentals of Genetics Lab (BIOL 350L), Biological Science 121 (BIOL 121)

Research: Molecular biology and evolution; post-transcription gene regulation in plants


Stephen Bush Stephen P. Bush
Professor
KESH 232
843-349-2269
bush@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Fundamentals of Genetics (BIOL 350), Advanced Genetics (BIOL 442)

Research: Plant population genetics


Megan Cevasco Megan Cevasco
Assistant Professor
KESH 109
843-234-3456
mcevasco@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science 121 (BIOL 121), Microbiology Laboratory (BIOL 330L)

Research: Systematics and evolution of marine protists and microbial symbioses.


Geoffrey J. Cockrell Geoffrey J. Cockrell
Senior Instructor
SCI 221B
843-349-2278
cockrell@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Human Anatomy and Physiology I (BIOL 232), Human Anatomy and Physiology Laboratory (BIOL 232L), Human Anatomy and Physiology II (BIOL 242), Human Anatomy and Physiology II Laboratory (BIOL 242L)

Research: Physiological, morphological and behavioral adaptations of fishes.


Photo Not Available Kelita Colburn
Administrative Specialist
KESH 113
843-349-2238
kcolburn@coastal.edu

Michael W. Ferguson Michael W. Ferguson
Professor
SCI 223
843-349-2214
ferguson@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Biological Science II (BIOL 122), Microbiology (BIOL 330/330L), Biology of Human Cancers (BIOL 345), Plant Physiology (BIOL 349/349L), Mycology (BIOL 424/424L)

Research: Molecular evolution of bacterial proteins, Molecular microbial ecology


Sharon L. Gilman Sharon L. Gilman
Associate Professor
KESH 120
843-349-2248
sgilman@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science I Lab (BIOL 121L), Biological Science II (BIOL 122), Biological Science II Lab (BIOL 122L), Evolution (BIOL 365/365L), Vertebrate Zoology (BIOL 485/485L)

Research: Science/Marine/Environmental Education, Fish Ecology


Kevin S. Godwin Kevin S. Godwin
Associate Professor
SCI 116B
843-349-4158
ksgodwin@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Principles of Ecology (BIOL 370), Principles of Biology II (BIOL 122), Principles of Biology Laboratory (BIOL 122L), Coastal Marine and Wetland Ecology (CMWS 602), Coastal Marine and Wetland Processes (CMWS 601), Graduate Seminar (CMWS 697 & 698)

Research: The distribution of wetland rarity at all spatial levels


Vladislav Gulis Vladislav Gulis
Associate Professor
KESH 229
843-349-2576
vgulis@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Microbiology (BIOL 330/330L), Microbial Ecology (BIOL 432/532), Biological Science I (BIOL 121)

Research: Aquatic microbial ecology


Christopher E. Hill Christopher E. Hill
Professor
SCI 127
843-349-2567
chill@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Biological Science II (BIOL 122), Ornithology (BIOL 461/561), Molecular Techniques in Biology (BIOL 451/551), Animal Behavior (BIOL 436/536)

Research: Bird mating systems; seabird and marsh bird conservation; bird song


Photo Not Available Amy Hill
Teaching Associate
SCI 126C
843-349-2238
ahill@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Principles of Ecology Lab (BIOL 370L)

Research


John J. Hutchens, Jr. John J. Hutchens, Jr.
Professor
SCI 126B
843-349-2169
jjhutche@coastal.edu
TeachingBiological Science II (BIOL 122)Principles of Ecology (BIOL 370)Freshwater Ecology (BIOL 481/581)Conservation Ecology (BIOL 484/584)Principles of Ecology Laboratory (BIOL 370L)

Research: Stream and wetland ecology


Jennifer Selman Jennifer Jackson
Teaching Associate
KESH 111
843-349-6686
jjackson@coastal.edu
Teaching:  The Science of Life Lab (BIOL 101L)

Research


Fang Ju Lin Fang Ju Lin
Associate Professor
KESH 119
843-349-6484
flin@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Biology of Human Cancer (BIOL 345), Cell Biology (BIOL 340), Developmental Biology (BIOL 410)

Research: Circadian Rhythms in fruit flies


Colleen Lohr Colleen Lohr
Emeritus Professor and Teaching Associate
Wall 323
843-349-2265
lohr@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science Labs

Research: Ultrastructure and function of green algae


James O. Luken James O. Luken
Professor; Associate Provost and Director of Graduate Studies
SNGL 117
843-349-2235
joluken@coastal.edu
Teaching: CMWS 697 

Research: Wetland plant ecology


Sue Mgrdechian Sue Mgrdechian
Lecturer
SCI 221C
843-349-6571
smgrdech@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Human Anatomy and Physiology (BIOL 232), Human Anatomy and Physiology Laboratory (BIOL 232L)

Research


Scott L. Parker Scott L. Parker
Assistant Professor
KESH 230
843-349-2491
sparker@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science II (BIOL 122), Comparative Animal Physiology (BIOL 343), Physiological Ecology (BIOL 322)

Research: Environmental Animal Physiology; Reproductive Physiology of Reptiles


Michael M. Pierce Michael M. Pierce
Chair & Associate Professor
KESH 112
843-349-6483
mpierce@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Fundamentals of Genetics (BIOL 350), Molecular Biology and Evolution (BIOL 450)

Research: Molecular Biology and Genetics of Prions


Kimberly M. Poston Kimberly M. Poston
Teaching Associate
SCI 106B-2
843-349-2701
kposton@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Principles of Microbiology (BIOL 330), Principles of Microbiology Laboratory (BIOL 330L)

Research


Suzanne S. Senchak Suzanne S. Senchak
Instructor
SCI 106B-2
843-347-2789
ssenchak@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science I Lab (BIOL 121L), Biological Science II (BIOL 122), Biological Science II Lab (BIOL 122L), The Science of Life Lab (BIOL 101L), Cell Biology Lab (BIOL 340L)

Research: Environmental Conservation Issues; Raptor Research


Photo Not Available Alison Smoot Pierce
Teaching Associate
SCI 221A
843-349-6688
asmootpi@coastal.edu
Teaching:  The Science of Life (BIOL 101), The Science of Life Lab (BIOL 101L), Human Anatomy and Physiology I Lab (BIOL 232L)

Research


Douglas Van Hoewyk Douglas Van Hoewyk
Associate Professor
KESH 118
843-349-2431
dougvh@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Plant Physiology (BIOL 349), Plants and Civilization (BIOL 320), Cell Biology (BIOL 340)

Research: Plant Molecular Biology; Plant tolerance to stress


Daniel C. Williams

Daniel C. Williams
Assistant Professor
KESH 233
843-349-6566
dwilliams@coastal.edu

Teaching:  Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Fundamentals of Genetics (BIOL 350)

Research: Neurobiology

 

James F. Wright James F. Wright
Teaching Associate
KESH 108
843-349-2247
jwright@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Parasitology (BIOL 431), Parasitology Laboratory (BIOL 431L)

Research: Pre-Med Advisor


Photo Not Available Tianyi Wu
Teaching Associate
KESH 231
843-349-2013
twu@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Cell Biology Lab (BIOL 340L), Biological Science II Lab (BIOL 122L)

Research