In This Section

Top honors presented to top faculty, students at Coastal

April 27, 2005

Coastal Carolina University presented awards for student academic achievement at the annual Honors Convocation on Tuesday, April 26 in Wheelwright Auditorium. Faculty recognition awards were also presented.

Kathryn Anne "Katie" Copenhaver, a senior biology and marine science major of Charleston, W. Va., received the 2004-2005 Faculty's Distinguished Excellence Award. Candidates for this award must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of at least 3.75, the endorsement of a faculty adviser and a record of academic honors. Copenhaver was also named the outstanding biology student this year. She was a mentor for two fourth-graders at Conway Elementary School and was awarded a prestigious summer research fellowship funded by the National Science Foundation for a project at the Savannah River Ecology Lab. Copenhaver was an officer in Coastal's Honors Program, a bilingual tutor at Carolina Forest Elementary School and recipient of a four-year CCU Provost Scholarship.

Jason A. Schipper, a history major from Hudsonville, Mich., received the 2004-2005 Ronald D. Lackey Service Award. Named in honor of the late Coastal faculty member and university chaplain, the award is given annually to a senior on the basis of conspicuous service to the university through involvement and leadership in campus organizations. Schipper is a member of and has held office in the Honors program, Phi Eta Sigma honor society, Phi Alpha Theta history honor society, Omicron Delta Kappa and the Humanities Student Advisory Council. He has worked on the Dorm Recycling Project to get recycling bins and a Salvation Army truck at the dorms at the end of the semester, and he presented three papers at regional and national conventions. He worked on Tempo student magazine and was a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

James F. Eason received the Distinguished Teacher-Scholar Lecturer Award. Sponsored by HTC, Inc., this award was initiated in 1996 to recognize faculty members who distinguish themselves as teachers, scholars and communicators. During the fall, the recipient delivers a public lecture drawn from his or her area of expertise. Eason, a professor of business administration, has been at Coastal for nearly 40 years - first as a student and later returning as a faculty member in 1977. He is an associate professor of accounting and management and associate dean of the E. Craig Wall Sr. College of Business Administration since 1998. Eason, who has a lengthy listing of publications and presentations, was called "a gifted teacher" and "the most compassionate and concerned faculty member" by the dean of the Wall College, David DeCenzo.

Michael Gilbert was presented the Student Affairs Division Award, which honors faculty who make significant contributions to the quality of student life through participation and leadership in the co-curricular activities of the university. An associate professor of foreign languages, he was instrumental in developing Coastal's German study abroad program. He is a founding member of the Freshman Success Seminar program and has mentored and advised first-year and undeclared students. Gilbert has worked on the Celebration of Inquiry conferences and has served on the Student Life Committee, the Campus Judicial Board and has been an officer on the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee.

Debbie H. Stanley was named the Distinguished Teacher of the Year, an annual honor presented by Coastal's Student Government Association to faculty who demonstrate excellence in teaching. Stanley, a professor of education, joined the Spadoni College of Education in 1992 following experiences in public schools. She was adviser for the Education Club for four years and was recognized for her enthusiasm in the classroom and her contribution to student success. Her scholarship focuses on the use of technology in the classroom.

Department awards were presented to 45 students in recognition of outstanding academic accomplishments and contributions to the academic quality of their respective departments.

The following awards were presented:

E. Craig Wall Sr. College of Business Administration:

- Accounting - Mariana Levi of Myrtle Beach

- Finance - Matthew S. Miller of Huntersville, N.C.

- Management - Jeffrey T. Ungurean of Myrtle Beach

- Marketing - Jana Mitchell of Mount Pleasant

Spadoni College of Education:

- Early Childhood Education - Kathleen E. Grey of Winchester, Ill.

- Elementary Education - Andrea Goff of Conway

- Health Promotion - Daniel J. Bailey of Conway

- Master of Art in Teaching - Martha H. Anderson of Conway

- Physical Education - Linda Weatherspoon of Myrtle Beach

- Recreation and Sports Management - Kelly Moore of Conway

Thomas W. and Robin W. Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts:

- Art Studio - Tina Cavalieri of Surfside Beach

- English - Randy L. Hughes of Myrtle Beach

- Foreign Languages - Brandy Cox of Conway

- History - Mica Pruitt of Surfside Beach

- Music - Jaclyn D. Pigate of Myrtle Beach

- Musical Theater - Diane Fabiano of Red Bank, N.J.

- Philosophy and Religion - Amanda M. Stepp of Myrtle Beach

- Politics and Geography - Jeff R. Burke of Myrtle Beach

- Theater - Jennifer L. Menzer of Surfside Beach

College of Natural and Applied Sciences:

- Biology - Kathryn A. Copenhaver of Charleston, W.Va.

- Chemistry - Emily Tarsis of Barberton, Ohio

- Computer Science - Emily M. Tarsis of Barberton, Ohio

- Marine Science - Jeremy E. Saeger of Chesapeake, Va.

- Mathematics - Shana L. McCracken of Galivants Ferry - Psychology - Christian A. Smith of Nottinghamshire, England

- Sociology - Tina M. Shuppy of Surfside Beach

Ceil Long of Myrtle Beach received the Interdisciplinary Studies Award from Coastal's School of Continuing Studies.

Medallions were presented to the following students who have successfully completed the requirements of Coastal's Honors Program:

- Jessica N. Brinkman of Erlanger, Ky. - marine science/biology

- Allison L. Byrd of Fredricksburg, Va. - marine science

- Amanda R. Colon of Montgomery, N.Y. - biology

- Kathryn A. Copenhaver of Charleston, W.Va. - marine science/biology

- Katherine E. Davis of of Buchanan, Va. - marine science

- Andrew M. Deffobix of Pottstown, Pa. - marine science

- Laura J. Eaton of Frederick, Md. - marine science

- Jillian L. Fisher of Mount Pleasant, Mich.- marine science/biology

- Casey L. Hale of Charlotte Court House, Va. - biology

- Charles N. Horton of North Mrtle Beach - English

- Jessica L. Keffer of Greensburg, Pa. - marine science/biology

- Mathew P. Knowlen of Newington, Ct. - math

- Mariana Levi of Myrtle Beach - finance/accounting

- Charles Ligocki of Toney, Ala. - marine science

- Ryan M. Lloyd of Manassas, Va. - biology

- Matthew S. Miller of Huntersville, N.C. - finance

- Melissa L. Rohal of Columbus, Ohio - marine science/biology

- Jason A. Schipper of Conway - history

The 394 members of Coastal's 16 honor societies and the 41 students listed in "Who's Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities" were also acknowledged, as well as 116 students who made presentations of papers at various academic conferences.