In This Section

CCU Board of Trustees elects new officers

July 15, 2005

Coastal Carolina University's Board of Trustees elected new officers for 2005-2006 today at its quarterly meeting. Charles J. Hodge was elected chairman, and Daniel W.R. Moore Sr. was named vice chairman. The board also voted today to renew its contract with the firm Kelley, McCain-Smith Owens (KMSO) as the university lobbyist.

Hodge, a Spartanburg attorney, is active in civic affairs in the upstate region of South Carolina. He has served on the Spartanburg Red Cross Board and was a member of the Salvation Army Advisory Council and a Hospice volunteer. He earned a bachelor's degree in journalism in 1978 and a law degree in 1980 from the University of South Carolina. He is a member of the South Carolina Trial Lawyers Association, the South Carolina Bar Association and American Bar Association. Hodge is board certified as a civil trial specialist. He has published numerous articles in law journals.

Moore, of North Myrtle Beach, is president of DM Development Co., Inc. He has undergraduate and graduate degrees from Clemson University. He served on the Horry County Higher Education Commission from 1994 to 2000, when he was appointed to the board of trustees. He has served as secretary of the board since 2003. Moore is a member of the North Myrtle Beach Zoning Board of Appeals and a director of Crescent Bank.

Also, William H. "Billy" Alford was recently selected to serve on the board, replacing Dean Hudson, who has served as a trustee since 1993. Alford, president of A & I Fire Restoration, is a 1977 Coastal graduate. He has been chairman of the S.C. Highway Commission and the Grand Strand Regional Medical Center's Board of Trustees. Alford has also been recognized as Coastal's 1992 Alumnus of the Year, Myrtle Beach Citizen of the Year and The Sun News Honor Volunteer. Alford has served on the Coastal Educational Foundation since 2000. Longtime trustee Keith S. Smith also resigned from the board recently. He has been named director of contractual and business services at Coastal.

Coastal's Board of Trustees has 17 members. Fifteen are elected by the General Assembly (two from each Congressional District and three from the state at large), one is appointed by the Governor, and one member is the Governor's designee.

The other members of the board of trustees are: Payne Barnett Jr. of Greenwood, Robert D. Brown of Camden, Joseph L. Carter of Myrtle Beach, Fred DuBard of Florence, Samuel L. Frink of Conway, Cathy B. Harvin of Summerton, James F. Kane of Columbia, William L. Lyles Jr. of Anderson, Clark B. Parker of Myrtle Beach, Robert L. Rabon of Conway, Oran P. Smith of Leesville, Eugene C. Spivey of Myrtle Beach and Samuel L. Swad of Gaffney.

The board will hold its annual retreat Sept. 9 and 10. Quarterly meetings of the board will be held Oct. 28, 2005; Jan. 13, 2006; May 5, 2006; and July 14, 2006.