In This Section

National history honor society inducts 18 CCU students

December 12, 2005

Eighteen Coastal Carolina University students have been inducted into Coastal Carolina University's chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the national honor society for history students.

The Psi-Mu chapter of Phi Alpha Theta was established at Coastal in 1978. To be eligible for membership, students must have taken at least 12 hours of history courses, maintain an overall grade point average of 3.0, and an average of 3.0 in their history courses.

Phi Alpha Theta encourages historical research, excellence in teaching, scholarly publication and the exchange of learning among students of history. The society was organized at the University of Arkansas in 1921 and has grown to more than 850 chapters. One of the largest honor societies in the United States, the organization offers numerous awards and scholarships to undergraduate and graduate student members. Each year approximately 40 regional meetings are convened at which students present research papers.

The Nov. 14 induction ceremony followed a keynote address by Kenneth Townsend of CCU entitled, “American Indians and Nazi Propaganda.” John Navin, associate profssor and associate dean of the Edwards College of Humanites and Fine Arts, is the adviser of the organization.

The new members are:

• Troy Biddy of Myrtle Beach

• Stephanie Blaher of Conway

• Christopher Brown of Myrtle Beach

• Frederick Canteen of Georgetown

• Angela Dembiczak of Myrtle Beach

• Rex Duncan of Galivants Ferry

• David English of Conway

• Dorothy Erb of Conway

• Meagen Johnson of Georgetown

• Charles Kiser of Round O

• Millard Medley of North Myrtle Beach

• Bryant Murphy of Blythewood,

• Kelly Murray of Little River

• Brett Porterfield of Conway

• Christopher Reynolds of Conway

• Geoffrey Roberts of Myrtle Beach

• Brian Sweeney of Pawleys Island

• Adam Wilson of Conway