In This Section

Advisory committee formed for CCU president search

May 15, 2006

A new committee has been formed as part of the process to select a new president at Coastal Carolina University. The Presidential Search Advisory Committee is a group of 12 persons representing a broad base of campus constituencies. The committee will review applications, interview candidates and identify finalists who will be interviewed by Coastal's board of trustees. The board and the advisory committee will be assisted by Greenwood and Associates Inc. of Washington, D.C., a professional search firm chosen by an ad hoc committee of Coastal's board of trustees in March. Coastal President Ronald R. Ingle is scheduled to retire June 30, 2007.

The members of the advisory committee are: William H. Alford, Fred F. DuBard Jr. and Samuel H. Frink, representing the board of trustees; Larry Biddle, representing the Coastal Educational Foundation; Julie Snowden, representing the Horry County Higher Education Commission; Dave Evans, representing CCU's Faculty Senate; Sharon Thompson, representing the Coastal faculty; Robert Shelton, representing the CCU Alumni Association; Janet Shokal, a Coastal student and president of the Student Government Association; Danny Nicholson, representing the Coastal administration; and Charles Hodge, chair of the board of trustees. Oran Smith, a trustee who chairs the academic affairs committee, will serve as a nonvoting adviser.