In This Section

Two new trustees named at Coastal Carolina University

June 7, 2006

William S. Biggs of Anderson and J. Wayne George of Mullins have been appointed to Coastal Carolina University's Board of Trustees.

Biggs, vice president and chief operating officer of HMR Veterans Services Inc., has worked with long-term care and the elderly for 15 years, specializing in the long-term care needs of American veterans. HMR manages state veteran homes in South Carolina, North Carolina and Alabama.

He is chairman of the South Carolina Health Care Association and past chairman of the South Carolina Veterans Trust Fund Board. He is also a life member of the American Legion, the VFW and the DAV. Biggs previously served as post adjutant and is currently the post treasurer for the American Legion Post 184. He is also a Mason, a member of the York Rites and Greenville Shrine.

Biggs earned a bachelor's degree in health care management from Southern Illinois University in 1987. He coached youth basketball and softball teams and serves as deacon at the North Anderson Baptist Church. He and his wife Francie have a 13-year-old daughter, Brittany.

George, a field services manager for the Municipal Association of South Carolina, formerly owned his own real estate and general insurance agency and was mayor of the City of Mullins for 16 years. He attended Coastal for two years, where he played basketball, before earning a bachelor's degree from Morris College.

He was named Community Person of the Year by the Mullins Chamber of Commerce in 2004 and Innovator of the Year the same year by the annual S.C. Rural Economic Summit. He and his wife Helen have three children, Jeff, Will and Bradley; Jeff is a senior at Coastal, and Will is a freshman.

Coastal's Board of Trustees has 17 members. Fifteen are elected by the General Assembly (two from each Congressional District and three from the state at large). The Governor appoints two members.

The other members of the board of trustees are: Charles J. Hodge of Spartanburg, chair; Daniel W.R. Moore Sr. of North Myrtle Beach, vice chairman; Samuel H. Frink, secretary/treasurer; William H. "Billy? Alford of Myrtle Beach; R. Duke Brown of Camden; Joseph L. Carter of Myrtle Beach; Fred F. DuBard Jr. of Florence; James F. Kane of Columbia; William L. Lyles Jr. of Anderson; Clark B. Parker of Myrtle Beach; Robert L. Rabon of Conway; Oran P. Smith of Leesville; Eugene C. Spivey of Myrtle Beach; Tommy M. Stringer of Greenville; and Samuel J. Swad of Gaffney.