In This Section

CCU history honor society inducts new members

April 20, 2007

Seventeen Coastal Carolina University students have been inducted into Psi Mu, Coastal Carolina University's chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the national honor society in history.

The 2007 inductees are: Matthew Ashley of Donalds, Mary-Lois Binford of Myrtle Beach, Andrew Caress of Conway, Ned Cerveny of Georgetown, Patricia Frasier of Myrtle Beach, Bogdan Grechka of Conway, Sarah Houff of Myrtle Beach, Adam Keith of Surfside Beach, Felicia Kulczak of Conway, Kathy Martin of Georgetown, JoZanne Rigoli of Myrtle Beach, Joshua Stovall of Conway, Loria Teal of Myrtle Beach, Elizabeth Whitaker of Myrtle Beach, William Woods of Conway, Jeremiah Otterbein of Galivants Ferry and Michael Scherrer of Myrtle Beach.

Prior to the induction ceremony, historian Rod Gragg gave a talk about the written correspondence between Civil War soldiers and their families. Afterwards, Charles Joyner, the retiring Burroughs Distinguished Professor of Southern History and Culture at Coastal, received a plaque from the members of Phi Alpha Theta as an expression of thanks for his ongoing support of the organization.

Phi Alpha Theta was organized at the University of Arkansas in 1921 and since then has grown to more than 850 chapters. It promotes the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning. The Psi-Mu chapter of Phi Alpha Theta was established at Coastal Carolina University in 1978. In the past six years, 40 Coastal students have presented papers at Phi Alpha Theta conferences.