In This Section

Honors presented to top faculty and students at CCU

April 26, 2007

Coastal Carolina University presented awards for faculty and student academic achievement and recognition at the annual Honors Convocation on Tuesday, April 24 in Wheelwright Auditorium.

Anthony Franklin, a senior applied mathematics major of Simpsonville, received the 2006-2007 Faculty's Distinguished Excellence Award. Candidates for this award, which is selected by a faculty committee, must have a minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of at least 3.75, the endorsement of a faculty adviser and a record of academic honors. Franklin, whose GPA is 4.0, has been recognized for his outstanding achievement on the Coastal football team, as president of Coastal's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, as a member of Pi Mu Epsilon mathematics honor society, as worship leader of Coastal's Fellowship of Christian Athletes, and as an athletic representative on the Student Leadership Council. In addition to receiving numerous honors and awards, Franklin also served as a mentor at Homewood Elementary for three children, and he volunteers with several charitable organizations.

Janet Shokal, a senior psychology major of New Hampton, N.H., received the 2006-2007 Ronald D. Lackey Service Award. Named in honor of the late Coastal faculty member and university chaplain, the award is given annually to a senior on the basis of conspicuous service to the university through involvement and leadership in campus organizations. As president of the Student Government Association (SGA), Shokal was instrumental in implementing a new SGA constitution, serving on the committee to select Coastal's president, and providing student input in the revising of the university's core academic curriculum. She has been actively involved in many areas of campus life and has taken a leading role in Homecoming, Orientation and the Clean-Up programs in the College Park community.

James Luken, professor of biology who served four years as the department chair, received the Distinguished Teacher Scholar Lecturer Award. Sponsored by HTC Inc., this award was initiated in 1996 to recognize faculty members who distinguish themselves as teachers, scholars and communicators. During the fall, the recipient delivers a public lecture drawn from his or her area of expertise. Luken joined the Coastal faculty in 2001 and has established a national reputation in restoration, community ecology and population biology of plants in coastal systems, providing Coastal students with unique research opportunities. Luken is also the co-author of "101 Wild Things Along the Grand Strand." He earned a bachelor's degree in zoology from Southern Illinois University, a master's degree in biology from Western Washington University and a Ph.D. in botany from Duke University.

Charmaine Tomczyk was presented the Student Affairs Division Award, which honors a faculty or staff member who makes significant contributions to the quality of student life through participation and leadership in the co-curricular activities of the university. Tomczyk is associate dean of library services in Coastal's Kimbel Library. Since joining the Coastal staff in 1978, she has served in many important capacities including chair of the Faculty Senate and assistant vice president for academic affairs. For the past three years she has directed Coastal's Celebration of Inquiry conference and she coordinated the first Big Surs academic conference, which brought 250 students from Big South Conference schools to Coastal's campus in March.

Kevin M. Jenerette, director of Coastal's Learning Assistance Center, was named the 2006-2007 Coastal Carolina Distinguished Teacher of the Year, an annual honor presented by Coastal's Student Government Association to faculty who demonstrate excellence in teaching. As a former mathematics instructor and math lab coordinator, Jenerette finds enjoyment in helping struggling students find success and accomplishment. Jenerette graduated from Coastal in 1992 as a magna cum laude mathematics major.

Ronald R. Ingle, president of Coastal Carolina University, was awarded the first Education Freedom Award by CCU's chapter of the NAACP. The new award is designed to recognize individuals who demonstrate a commitment to promote and ensure a climate of diversity on the Coastal campus. Ingle was commended for stances against racism and intolerance that he has taken during his presidency. "Intolerance is irreconcilable with the values of this university," said Ingle.

Departmental awards were presented to 32 students in recognition of outstanding academic accomplishments and contributions to the academic quality of their respective departments. The following awards were presented:

E. Craig Wall Sr. College of Business Administration:

* Accounting - Keri A. Todd of Conway

* Economics - Ellen M. Bergsveinsdottir of Myrtle Beach

* Finance - Katherine E. Watson of Morristown, Tenn.

* Management - Klara Tansky of Little River

* Marketing - Tammy Sturdevant of Angier, N.C.

* Resort Tourism Management - Ellen E. Ryan of Rockville, Md.

Spadoni College of Education:

* Early Childhood Education - Danielle N. Vause of Georgetown

* Elementary Education - Carmen Brown of Greer

* Health Promotion - Kim Cillis of Magnolia, Texas

* Interdisciplinary Studies - Margaret Danielle Maggard of Myrtle Beach

* Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) - Kari C. Brown of Surfside Beach

* Middle Grades Education - Billy Gainus of Loris

* Physical Education - Jason Cox of Aynor

* Recreation and Sport Management - Jonathan Carlson of Potomac, Md.

* Special Education - Michelle Hardie of Surfside Beach

Thomas W. and Robin W. Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts:

* Communication - Sarize Coetzee of Bloemfontein, South Africa

* Dramatic Arts - Krystin Mementowski of Streetsboro, Ohio

* English - Krystin Mementowski of Streetsboro, Ohio

* Foreign Languages - Beth Ann Reichert of Nesconset, N.Y.

* History - Laurel Long of Longs

* Music - Brandon Scott Akers of Conway

* Musical Theater - Christen Eason of Pageland

* Philosophy and Religion - Adam Townsend of Myrtle Beach

* Politics and Geography - Daniel Colaizzi of Hoboken, N.J.

* Visual Arts - April Brown of Marion

College of Natural and Applied Sciences:

* Biology - Joy N. Smith of Chesapeake, Va.

* Chemistry and Physics - Jonathan M. Reeves of Marietta, Ga.

* Computer Science - Thomas Whitt of Anderson

* Mathematics - Anthony M. Franklin of Simpsonville

* Marine Science - Joy N. Smith of Chesapeake, Va.

* Psychology - Shelley Stoecker of Greenville

* Sociology - Jaclyn Scrudato of Newton, N.J.