In This Section

Coastal's Faculty Senate elects officers for 2007-2008

September 7, 2007

Coastal Carolina University's faculty governing body has elected new officers for the academic year.

David Evans was re-elected as chair of the Faculty Senate. Susan Webb was elected vice chair, and Susan Slavik was elected secretary.

The 53-member Faculty Senate is the main body dealing with faculty governance. All academic issues must come through this group that meets monthly to assess, determine or improve such matters as standards for admission, curriculum, discipline of students, research, recruitment and calendars.

"This will be an exciting year, both in and out of the Senate, as Coastal transitions under the direction of the new administration," said Evans. "We look forward to working with President DeCenzo, Executive Vice President [Eddie] Dyer and Provost [Robert] Sheehan as we move in new and exciting directions."

Evans, associate professor of chemistry, joined the Coastal faculty in 1997. He earned a doctorate in organic chemistry from Louisiana State University in 1987, with a minor in biochemistry.

Webb, professor of sociology, joined Coastal in 1984. She earned a Ph.D. in sociology from North Carolina State University in 1985. She teaches social problems, social demography, criminology, victimology and sociology of the family. Webb serves on the Southern Sociological Society, the Program Committee and the Committee on the Status of Students. She is a past president of the South Carolina Sociological Association

Slavik, associate professor of visual arts, joined the Coastal faculty in 1998. She taught art to children in the Livonia, Mich., public schools and served as an adjunct professor at Eastern Michigan University and Henry Ford Community College. She earned a Ph.D. at Florida State University. She has served as visual arts coordinator of the Summer Arts Academy for the past four years, and is the university supervisor for graduate and undergraduate art education students.