In This Section

Winners of CCU Chemistry and Physics Science Day announced

December 10, 2007

Students from five high schools in Horry County and one high school in Georgetown County participated in Coastal Carolina University's first Chemistry and Science Day on Dec. 7. The event, sponsored by CCU's Department of Chemistry and Physics, is designed to encourage area high school students' involvement in science.

Prior to visiting the Coastal campus, participating students took exams at their respective schools. The highest scorers in each category are:

1st Place

AP Physics: Davy Stone of Socastee High School

AP Chemistry: Ahmed Jaraki of the Scholars Academy

CP Physics: (tie) Charles Smith of Myrtle Beach High School and Scott Lauigne of Aynor High

2nd place

AP Physics: Sam King of Socastee High School

AP Chemistry: David Oberst of Georgetown High School

CP Chemistry: (tie) Samantha Ward and Kathryn Teal, both of Aynor High School

3rd Place

AP Physics: Megan Moore of Socastee High School

AP Chemistry: (tie) Zachary Graham of the Scholars Academy and Hunter Robinson of Socastee High School

CP Physics: Samantha Ward of Aynor High School

Best High School in Physics: Socastee High School

Best High School in Chemistry: The Scholars Academy

Students who participated in the program took a campus tour led by CCU physics and chemistry majors, and an awards ceremony was held to honor the top exam scorers.