In This Section

Higher Education Commission announces new members

May 16, 2008

The Horry County Higher Education Commission has announced the appointment of two new members, Bridget Player of Myrtle Beach and Elizabeth J. Saraniti of Surfside Beach. Saraniti is serving a four-year term; Player's term expires in 2010.

Player is a kindergarten teacher at Seaside Elementary School where she has taught for 12 years. She earned a bachelor's degree in elementary education and a master's degree in early childhood education, both from Coastal Carolina University. She has been a leader for the March of Dimes at her school.

Saraniti has been a partner at Moore, Johnson & Saraniti law firm in Surfside Beach for four years; prior to that she practiced law on the north end of the Grand Strand for five years. She earned a bachelor's degree at Cleveland State University and a juris doctor at Cleveland Marshall College of Law. She has served on the Horry County Planning Committee and is a board member of the South Strand Republican Club.

The HCHEC was formed in 1959 by the South Carolina General Assembly to develop higher education opportunities for students of Horry County and to oversee the use of county tax millage. Various scholarships are offered to graduates of Horry County's high schools annually. There are 16 members of the commission who are appointed by the Governor of South Carolina and recommended by the Horry County Legislative to represent Horry County.

Members are: Julie M. Rajotte, chair; John M. Vaught III, vice chair; Ruth S. Kearns, secretary; H. Delan Stevens, treasurer; J. Benjie Andrew; Joseph O. Burroughs Jr.; James T. Carroll; Terry G. Chandler; Sheldon D. Dawsey; K. Allen Deaton; Ruell L. Hicks; T. Christopher Leonard; Ronald R. Norton; Player; Saraniti and Peggy M. Vogel.