In This Section

Baseball To Host the NCAA Conway Regional

May 26, 2008

Coastal Carolina University will host one of 16 NCAA Baseball Regionals May 30-June 2, the NCAA announced May 25. The regional will take place on the Coastal Carolina campus at Charles Watson Stadium/Vrooman Field.

Coastal Carolina will join Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Florida State, Georgia, Long Beach State, Louisiana State, Miami (Fla.), Michigan, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Oklahoma State, Rice, Stanford and Texas A&M as regional hosts. All the schools will host on campus except for North Carolina, who will host at the USA Baseball National Training Complex in Cary, N.C.

Coastal Carolina (47-12) is one of seven teams who will host that also had a regional last year. Coastal won the Big South Conference's automatic bid May 24 in a 9-2 win over Liberty in the second championship game of the conference's tournament.

Tickets for the NCAA Conway Regional will be $70 for an all-tournament pass in the reserved session, $65 for an all-tournament pass in the Bronze general admission (left field line) and $60 for an all-tournament pass in the White section (right field line). Single-game tickets are $15 in reserved and $10 in general admission. Chanticleer season-ticket holders can purchase tickets Monday, May 26 at 2 p.m., with public sale beginning Tuesday, May 27 at 7 a.m. Tickets can be purchased by calling the Coastal Carolina ticket office at 1-877-4CHANTS or 843-347-TIXX.

Coastal will find out what teams will fill out the NCAA Conway Regional Monday, May 26 at 12:30 p.m., on ESPN.