In This Section


April 19, 2001

Fourteen students have been inducted into Coastal Carolina Universitys chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, a national honor society for history students. Coastals chapter was established in 1978.

Phi Alpha Theta encourages historical research, excellence in teaching, scholarly publication and the exchange of learning among students of history. The national organization, one of the largest honor societies in the United States, offers numerous awards and scholarships to undergraduate and graduate student members.

To be eligible for membership, students must have taken at least 12 hours of history courses and must maintain a 3.0 grade point average. Each year approximately 40 regional meetings are convened at which students present research papers.

The following students were recently inducted into Coastals chapter of Phi Alpha Theta:

Stacey Collins, a senior psychology major of Myrtle Beach; Salvatore Degennaro, a junior history major of Loris; Thomas Ewart Jr., a junior history major of Florence; William Galbreath Jr., a senior interdisciplinary studies major Surfside Beach; Amanda Gantt, a senior psychology major of Conway; Joseph Groth, a sophomore history major of Myrtle Beach; Stephen Hartley, a junior secondary education major of Myrtle Beach; Daniel Hoover, a junior dramatics arts major of Little River; Thomas Kozlow, a junior history major of Myrtle Beach; Ryan Leaphart, a sophomore history major of Hilton Head Island; Lakesha McCutchen, a senior sociology major of Andrews; Samuel Pringle, a sophomore undeclared major of Myrtle Beach; Katherine Sawyer, a senior history major of Conway; and Jordan Weismore, a sophomore history major of Syracuse, N.Y.

Faculty adviser for Phi Alpha Theta is John Navin, assistant professor of history at Coastal. The keynote speaker for the induction ceremony was Walter Edgar, who serves as the Claude Neuffer Professor of Southern Studies at the University of South Carolina.