In This Section

Coastal Carolina University names first Swain Scholars

June 23, 2009

The first class of Swain Scholars at Coastal Carolina University has been selected. The new scholarship program was created through a major gift to the University by retired Myrtle Beach pharmacist Kenneth E. Swain, which was announced in January 2009.

The first Swain Scholars are Christina Eells, a junior biology major from Myrtle Beach; Tyler Gebauer, a junior exercise/sport science major from Pittsburgh, Pa.; Kaile Laurenzo, a sophomore health promotion major from Coventry, R.I.; and Sherri Tomlinson, a junior chemistry major from Myrtle Beach.

Swain's gift, one of the largest in University history, has been designated largely for science scholarships, with a particular emphasis on health science programs.

"Bridging the disciplines of basic science and community health is a goal that interests Mr. Swain," said Michael Roberts, dean of the College of Natural and Applied Sciences at Coastal Carolina University. "The selection of the Swain Scholars reflects this objective." The first Swain Scholars class comprises two students majoring in the health science area and two majoring in a basic science, biology and chemistry.

Each Swain Scholar receives a $5,000 scholarship annually. To be eligible, students must be sophomores or juniors who maintain a minimum 3.5 grade point average. Interest and participation in community health-related outreach activities also is a consideration.

In addition to scholarships, the Swain gift supports new and expanded laboratories and equipment for teaching and research. The University's proposed new science building, which had its groundbreaking in February 2009, will be called Kenneth E. Swain Hall.