In This Section

Scholarship opportunities expanded for Horry grads

November 24, 2009

The Horry County Higher Education Commission (HCHEC) has established a new scholarship program for local high school students who plan to attend Coastal Carolina University.

The HCHEC Academic Excellence Scholarship is the newest program that rewards the top graduate from each eligible Horry County high school who chooses to enroll at CCU the fall semester following graduation. This award may be received in addition to other HCHEC scholarships.

The HCHEC also provides scholarship support to recent Horry County graduates throught he Leadership, Visual and Performing Arts, and the International Awareness Scholarships. The deadline to apply for the these scholarships for the 2010-2011 academic year is March 1, 2010.

Recipients of 2009-2010 HCHEC Academic Excellence Scholarships are:

Sydni Donellan – graduate of Carolina Forest High School majoring in middle level education

Kevin Kern – graduate Conway High School majoring in applied physics

Taylor LaPierre – graduate of Green-Sea Floyds High School majoring in biology

Pooja Patel – graduate of North Myrtle Beach High School majoring in biology

Michael Primrose – graduate of Aynor High School with an undeclared major

Casey Stevens – graduate of Loris High School with an undeclared major

Alfred Tomlinson – graduate of Loris High School majoring in exercise and sport science

Angela Webb – graduate of Myrtle Beach High School majoring in music

Hannah Widdifield – graduate of St. James High School majoring in English

For additional information about the HCHEC scholarships, please contact Coastal Carolina University’s Scholarship Office at 843-349-2308 or