In This Section

Coastal Carolina University announces 2010-2012 Jackson Scholars

December 3, 2009

Six Coastal Carolina University students have been selected as the 2010-2012 Jackson Scholars, a student leadership program sponsored by the Universitys Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values.

The new class of Scholars include Michael Black, a sophomore philosophy major from North Myrtle Beach; Christine Brown, a freshman psychology major from Walterboro; Tiffani Cosson, a sophomore resort tourism management major from Sumter; Dea Kamberaj, a sophomore psychology major from Myrtle Beach; Chrystal Morris, a postgraduate student returning for a second degree in political science from Conway; and Kylie Reid, a sophomore psychology major from Latta.

The Jackson Scholars are required, as a part of the program, to complete two years of ethical leadership studies in the classroom, two semesters of counselorship on the Summer Ethics Academy, to create and perform an ethics-focused internship in the local community and to prepare an annual report to the Jackson family. The Scholars also help organize and present all of the Jackson Center seminars, including Tea and Ethics and the Visiting Ethicist lecture. The scholars receive $1,000 annually to assist with personal costs associated with the program and to recognize the value of a strong ethical background.

The Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values was founded in 2004 by area business and civic leaders Nelson and Mary Emily Platt Jackson. The primary focus of the Jackson Center is to cultivate awareness throughout the academic and surrounding communities of the importance and lifelong rewards of personal and professional integrity. The Jackson Center sponsors four cornerstone programs: Jackson Scholars, Jackson Junior Scholars, Jackson Visiting Ethicist and the Jackson Resource Center. Through these programs the center sponsors events including Tea and Ethics, Coffee and Ethics, and Java Jabber seminars. The subjects of these events include ethical issues in science, business, education, and the arts and humanities.