In This Section

Math whizzes compete in annual contest at CCU

March 24, 2010

Approximately 184 high school students competed in the 31st annual Coastal Carolina University-Cengage Learning Math Contest held recently on the Universitys campus. One North Carolina school and 21 South Carolina schools took part in this years event.

The high schools competing in the 2010 contest were: A.C. Flora, Academic Magnet, Ashley Hall, Aynor, Beaufort Academy, Bishop England, Carvers Bay, Creek Bridge, Conway, Goose Creek, Green Sea Floyds, John T. Hoggard (North Carolina), Mullins, Scholars Academy, Socastee, Wando, West Florence, Williston-Elko and Wilson.

School competition winners by category were:

Competition 1- Level I: Pinewood Prepatory High School

Competition 1- Level II: Academic Magnet High School

Competition 2- Level I: A.C. Flora High School

Competition 2- Level II: A.C. Flora High School

Overall winner: A.C. Flora High School

Individual student winners were:

Hardie Cate, A.C. Flora High School

Patrick Dynes, Bishop England High School

Brook Kirkland, Mullins High School

William McAdams, A.C. Flora High School

Daniel Monteith, A.C. Flora High School

Katherine Moore, Goose Creek High School

Sage Price, A.C. Flora High School

Lisa Lynn Schnexayder, Scholars Academy

Jessica Wang, Spring Valley High School

Zack Yaeger, Pinewood Prepatory High School

David Zhang, Academic Magnet High School

William Zhang, Academic Magnet High School

Students in the competition were given written examinations. Level I questions were taken from Algebra I, Algebra II and Geometry; Level II questions were taken from Algebra, Geometry, Advanced Algebra and Trigonometry. Winners received $100 for first place, $75 for second place and $50 for third place in each category.