In This Section

CCU trustees set tuition, approve master plan

February 18, 2011

At its quarterly meeting today, the Board of Trustees of Coastal Carolina University approved a tuition increase of 4.58 percent for in-state students. Out-of-state tuition will increase 6.37 percent.

In-state undergraduate tuition will increase $215 per semester, from $4,695 to $4,910. Out-of-state undergraduate tuition will increase $645 per semester, from $10,135 to $10,780.

Housing fees will also be adjusted. The cost of triple suites will be reduced by 8.4 percent, while other room plans will increase from 3 to 3.1 percent. Meal fees will increase 3.8 percent per semester. Parking fees will increase from $50 to $75 per year to help fund future additional parking on campus.

The board also approved the Campus Master Plan, a comprehensive blueprint outlining the future direction of the institutions physical layout. Developed by Sasaki Associates Inc., a planning/design firm based in Watertown, Mass., the plan emphasizes the use of natural open spaces and calls for pedestrian pathways, new student housing and centers for student life. Beginning in March 2010, the plan evolved through a series of meetings with a broad group of University stakeholders, including students, faculty, staff and community members.

The board also unanimously endorsed the creation of a 10-year Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP). The plan, called E3: Enriching Educational Experiences for Coastal Carolina University, aims to enhance student learning at CCU. The program will encourage students to take part in engaged learning experiences, applying classroom learning to the local community and beyond. The development of a QEP is one of the performance indicators required by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) as part of its reaccreditation process.

Two new degree programs were approved by the board, a Master of Arts in Accountancy degree and a Bachelor of Science in Health Administration.

An academic and office building scheduled to begin construction in May 2011 will be named for Clay Brittain, Jr. of Myrtle Beach, in recognition of his contributions to the tourism industry and to Coastal Carolina University.

The board voted to offer President David DeCenzo a five-year extension in his employment contract.

The board also approved emeritus status for retiring faculty members Judy Engelhard, emeritus professor; Robert D. Nale, distinguished emeritus professor; Sandra Shackelford, distinguished emeritus professor; and Linda Vereen, emeritus professor.

The board approved recommendations for faculty promotions and tenure. Nine faculty members have been promoted from associate professor to professor: Dan Abel, Steven Bleicher, Sara Brallier, Jerome Christia, Steve Earnest, Chris Hill, Carol Osborne, Nancy Ratcliff and Philip Whalen.

Twenty faculty members have been promoted to associate professor with tenure: Matthieu Chan Tsin, Rebecca Childs, Michael Collins, Eric Hall, Dodi Hodges, Jennifer Hughes, Keshav Jagannathan, Bomi Kang, Fang Ju Lin, Karen Maguire, Colleen McGlone, Sandra Nelson, Brandon Palmer, Terry Pettijohn, Michael Pierce, John Reilly, Holly Tankersley, Jay Teets, Nicholas Twigg and John Yannessa. Sandra Wilson has been awarded tenure.