In This Section

CCU announces first Beach Music Hall of Fame inductees, songs

March 4, 2011

Coastal Carolina University will host the Beach Music Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. Eight legendary beach music artists and 10 songs will be inducted at the ceremony, scheduled for 6 p.m., Sunday, May 15, in CCUs Wheelwright Auditorium.

Dino Thompson, chairman of the Beach Music Hall of Fame advisory board, announced the names of the first lineup of artists and songs to be honored by the new institution. The artists are Hank Ballard and The Midnighters, Ruth Brown, The Clovers, Fats Domino, The Drifters, Louie Jordan, Amos Milburn, and Big Joe Turner.

Songs to be honored include Sixty Minute Man, recorded by The Dominoes; Shake, Rattle and Roll, recorded by Big Joe Turner; Aint That a Shame, recorded by Fats Domino; The Great Pretender, recorded by The Platters; Green Eyes, recorded by the Ravens; Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean, recorded by Ruth Brown; Nip Sip, recorded by The Clovers; One Mint Julep, recorded by the Clovers; White Christmas, recorded by The Drifters; and Drinkin Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee, recorded by Sticks McGee.

Were honoring the genius of what these artists created and the cherished memories that are stirred each time we hear their songs, said Thompson. Whether you listen to rap, rock or R&B, the music rests on the shoulders of these forgotten giants who transitioned those sounds from the church to blues to beach music.

This first induction will focus on the pioneers of beach music who released songs prior to 1955. Special recognition will also be given to the late General Norman Johnson, lead vocalist of Chairman of the Board, and the late Solomon Burke, considered the founding father of soul music. CCU faculty member Dan OReilly and Pop 101 musicians will also perform a medley of beach music songs originally made famous by Hall of Fame inductees.

CCU students Candace Hamilton and Hunter Frye performed South Carolinas state dance, the shag, at the media event today. The dance is performed almost exclusively to the sounds of Carolina beach music.

The plan to establish the Beach Music Hall of Fame on CCUs campus was formalized in May 2009 when the South Carolina General Assembly passed a concurrent resolution designating Coastal Carolina University as the home of the Beach Music Hall of Fame. "When Coastal Carolina University was designated as the home of the Beach Music Hall of Fame, we gained a unique recognition that further links the university with the community, said CCU President David DeCenzo. We are proud to join the group that has championed the music and culture that distinguishes the Grand Strand and Horry County from any other place in any other state."

DeCenzo established a Beach Music Hall of Fame advisory board to formulate a procedure for naming inductees to the Hall of Fame. CCUs Wheelwright Auditorium will serve as an interim location on campus to house it. University officials foresee the eventual installation of an interactive museum that will showcase beach music history and honor the inductees.

The Beach Music Hall of Fame advisory board members include Steve Bailey, Jason Cagle, Hilda Carter, Charles Dalton, Cliff Ellis, Selene Graham, Pat Howle, Kay Maddox, Eddie Ray, Dan OReilly, Rose Rock, Billy Scott, Don Sloan, Bubber Snow, Charles Stafford, Barry Thigpen, Dino Thompson, Jack Thompson, Harry Turner and Bob Wood.

The Universitys affiliation with beach music was spearheaded by Harry Turner, president of the Beach Music Association International. An author and radio personality, Turner has taught noncredit courses on beach music through the Universitys adult learning program for many years. The Carolina Beach Music Association is also supporting the Hall of Fame project at CCU.

Tickets to the Beach Music Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are $20, available through the Wheelwright Box Office from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, at 843-349-2502.

For more information, contact Martha Hunn at 843-349-2962.