In This Section

CCU honor society inducts 27 members

March 7, 2011

Twenty-seven new students were recently inducted into Coastal Carolina University's chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda, the national honor society for continuing students ages 24 and older.

To be eligible for membership, students must be enrolled in an undergraduate degree program and have a grade point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale.

The keynote speaker for the induction ceremony was Joe Oestreich, assistant professor of English. Oestreichs presentation, Crush the Butterfly: On the Importance of Leaving the Path, drew on the 14 years it took him to earn his undergraduate degree, discussing the benefits of a nontraditional trek through college. Oestreich, who joined the University faculty in 2008, is a creative nonfiction specialist whose essays have appeared in Esquire, Sports Illustrated, Ninth Letter, Fourth Genre and other magazines. He is the nonfiction editor of CCUs online literary journal, Waccamaw.

The 2011 student inductees are:

Julian William Addison of Bronx, N.Y.

Charlotte R. Baroody of Myrtle Beach

Regina G. Bristow of Mullins

Pamela Carrico of Longs

Luis A. Castrat of Conway

Kathleen M. Clark of Conway

Denise Land of Conway

Cynthia M. Dodd of North Myrtle Beach

Erin Dudley of Myrtle Beach

Renee Denise Ford of Conway

Robert E. Hoff of Little River

Sandra Horrocks of Myrtle Beach

Denise K. Land of Conway

Tanasha Lee of Conway

Amy Renee Linneman of Little River

Peter William Ondrus of Myrtle Beach

Ronald F. Pacetti Jr. of Conway

Laura Lisa Pickford of Little River

Natasha E. Ryals of Murrells Inlet

Roslyn Beth Sakowitz of Murrells Inlet

Frederick H. Searles of Conway

Kristina N. Stimeling of Myrtle Beach

Elizabeth Ann Sweat of Myrtle Beach

Joey Ray Trail of Myrtle Beach

Alice Paige Whaley of Pawleys Island

Melissa Ann White of Conway

Aliyyah Shadi Willis of Conway