In This Section

Two named to CCU board of trustees

July 1, 2011

Carlos C. Johnson Jr. and William E. Turner have been selected to serve as members of Coastal Carolina Universitys board of trustees.

Johnson is an attorney based in Spartanburg. He earned a bachelors degree in political science from the University of South Carolina in 1998 and a juris doctor degree from USC School of Law in 2002. He joined Lyles, Darr & Clark LLP in Spartanburg in 2005. Johnson serves as vice chair of the City of Spartanburg Human Relations Commission, vice president of Spartanburg Focus on Leadership and a member of the board of directors of the Ellen Hines Smith Girls Home.

Turner is a business development manager for US Foodservice in Greenville. He earned a bachelors degree in business administration from Coastal Carolina University in 1997. Born in Spartanburg and raised in Conway, he previously worked at his familys business, Goldfinch Funeral Home, and as a marketing/business development director in the credit union industry. He has also been a professional firefighter.

CCUs board of trustees has 17 members; 15 are elected by the General Assembly (two from each Congressional District and three from the state at large), and two are appointed by the Governor. Johnson is a gubernatorial designee, and Turner represents District 4.

Other current members of CCUs board of trustees are William H. Alford (chairman) of Myrtle Beach, Larry L. Biddle of Conway, William S. Biggs of Anderson, Gary W. Brown of Florence, Robert D. Brown of Camden, J. Wayne George of Mullins, Natasha M. Hanna of Conway, D. Wyatt Henderson of Greer, William L. Lyles Jr. of Anderson, Daniel W. R. Moore Sr. of North Myrtle Beach, Oran P. Smith of Leesville, Eugene C. Spivey of Myrtle Beach, Samuel J. Swad (vice chairman) of Gaffney and Robert G. Templeton of Neeses.