In This Section


August 20, 2001

Charles J. Hodge has been appointed by Gov. Jim Hodges to serve on an interim basis as a member of Coastal Carolina University's Board of Trustees. Hodge fills the 4th Congressional District seat which was held by Elaine Marks of Spartanburg, who died July 7, 2001.

A Spartanburg attorney, Hodge is a board certified civil trial specialist. He is affiliated with the South Carolina Trial Lawyers Association, South Carolina Bar Association, American Trial Lawyers Association and the American Bar Association. Many of his articles have been published in law journals.

Hodge is active in civic affairs in the Upstate region. He is a member of the Spartanburg Red Cross Board and was a member of the Salvation Army Advisory Council and a Hospice volunteer.

A native of Spartanburg, Hodge earned a bachelor's degree in journalism in 1978 and juris doctorate in 1980 from the University of South Carolina.

When the General Assembly reconvenes in January 2002, it will elect a permanent replacement for the remainder of Marks' term, which runs until 2003.

Coastal's Board of Trustees has 17 members: 15 are elected by the General Assembly (two from each Congressional District and three from the state at large), and two are appointed by the Governor.

Other members of Coastal's Board of Trustees are Payne H. Barnette Jr. of Greenwood, Robert D. Brown of Camden, H. Franklin Burroughs of Conway, Fred F. DuBard Jr. of Florence, Cathy B. Harvin of Summerton, Hal B. Holmes Jr. of Conway, Dean P. Hudson of Conway, James F. Kane of Columbia, William L. Lyles Jr. (vice chairman) of Anderson, Daniel W.R. Moore Sr. of North Myrtle Beach, Clark B. Parker (chairman) of Myrtle Beach, Juli S. Powers of Cheraw, Robert L. Rabon of Conway, Keith S. Smith of Greer, Oran P. Smith of Leesville and George L. Williams Sr. (secretary) of Conway.