In This Section

Coastal Carolina University announces 2012 Jackson Scholars

January 23, 2012

Six Coastal Carolina University students have been selected as the 2012 Jackson Scholars, a student leadership program sponsored by the University's Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values.

The new class of scholars, beginning January 2012, includes Cheryl Anthony, a philosophy major and pre-law minor from Murrells Inlet; Amber Eckersley, a history major and art history minor from Conway; Miranda Frederick, a theatre major from Chapin; Kara Olson, a communication major from Victoria, Minn.; Kaitlyn Page, a political science major and pre-law minor from Aynor; and Caitlyn Rhodes a history major and pre-law minor from Loris.

The Jackson Scholars are required, as a part of the program, to complete two years of ethical leadership studies in the classroom, spend two semesters as counselors through the Summer Ethics Academy, to create and perform an ethics-focused internship in the community, and to prepare an annual report to the Jackson family. The scholars receive $1,000 annually to assist with personal costs associated with the program.

The Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values was founded in 2004 by area business and civic leaders Nelson and Mary Emily Platt Jackson. The primary focus of the Jackson Center is to cultivate awareness throughout the academic and surrounding communities of the importance and lifelong rewards of personal and professional integrity.