In This Section

CCU receives ODK recognition awards

August 13, 2012

Coastal Carolina University's Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa (CCU ODK), the national leadership honor society, was recently honored as a Circle of Distinction at the 47th Biennial ODK National Convention and Summit in Charlotte.

Three ODK student officers from CCU attended the biennial convention with faculty members Charmaine Tomczyk and Dan Ennis to accept the 2011-2012 award on behalf of the CCU ODK Circle. The students were Chelsie Herman, secretary and a business management major; Lindsey Holt, CCU ODK president and a double major in elementary education and English; and Melissa Kersse, a marine science major with a double minor in environmental science and Spanish.

The Circle of Distinction is given to organizations that demonstrate exceptional performance in accordance with the ODK national standards.

Also honored at the event was Robert Squatriglia, CCU faculty emeritus and former vice president for student affairs. He received the Cheryl M. Hogle Distinguished Service Award, which honors outstanding and conspicuous service to Omicron Delta Kappa.

ODK is the oldest national leadership honor society, begun in 1914. It promotes the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized and represented in all phases of college life to increase cooperative, worthwhile endeavors developed by outstanding students, faculty, staff and administration members.