In This Section

CCU moves to acquire University Boulevard from SC DOT

February 14, 2014

At its quarterly meeting Friday, Coastal Carolina University’s board of trustees approved a measure that will allow CCU to acquire University Boulevard, the campus’ main entrance road, through a donation from the South Carolina Department of Transportation (SC DOT).

According to University officials, the move will allow CCU to more effectively implement and control safety measures, such as speed limits, traffic signals, crosswalks and lighting, along University Boulevard.

The board also approved a motion to establish a Bachelor of Science degree in Information Technology. Pending approval by the S.C. Commission on Higher Education, the degree will be offered in the Fall 2014 semester.

The board also approved recommendations for faculty promotion and/or tenure. Nineteen faculty member have been promoted to associate professor with tenure: Linda Anast-May, Sarah Banks, Brian Bunton, Craig Boylstein, Carolyn Dillian, David Duncan, Jeanne French, Jenna Hll, Elizabeth Howie, JongHan Kim, Fredanna M’Cormack, Megan McIlreavy, Scott Mann, Christopher Moore, Nicholas Pritchard, H. Erin Rickard, Amy Tully, Douglas Van Hoewyk and Frederick Wood.

Two faculty members have been promoted to professor with tenure: Janice Black and Jeremy Dickerson. Twelve faculty members have been promoted from associate to full professor: Daniel Albergotti, John Hutchens, Marvin Keene, Karen Maguire, Kenneth Martin, Richard Martin, Terry Pettijohn, Emma Savage-Davis, Kenneth Small, Renee Smith, Andrew Weinbach and Joseph Winslow. One full professor, Paul Clark, was granted tenure.

Three retiring faculty members earned emeritus status: Linda Roddy Henderson, emeritus professor; James D. Henderson, distinguished professor emeritus; and Philip Little, distinguished professor emeritus. Seven property leases were renewed or adopted by the board.