In This Section

CCU board of trustees welcomes new member

May 23, 2014

Fred “Trip” DuBard of Florence has been selected to serve on Coastal Carolina University’s Board of Trustees as an at-large member.

DuBard is the executive director of South Carolina Future Minds, a nonprofit that organizes private support for the state’s 700,000 public school K-12 students across the state. He was previously general manager and president of DuBard Inc., the Anheuser-Busch distributorship in Florence.

DuBard was a journalist for nearly 10 years and worked for the Associated Press in Columbia and The Sun News in Myrtle Beach.

His education includes a bachelor’s degree in history from Duke University and a master’s degree in public administration from Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government.

“I’ve been involved for years in efforts to strengthen K-12 education in South Carolina,” says DuBard. “Increasingly, though, I’m seeing education as a continuum, and would like to learn more about the education system beyond high school. I believe my experience in K-12 work can help Coastal Carolina University, and I would benefit from learning how the K-12 system blends into a major state higher education institution.”

DuBard is a former member of the Coker College board of trustees and a past member of the South Carolina State Board of Education. He is the father of three.

CCU's Board of Trustees has 17 members: 15 are elected by the General Assembly representing each of the state’s Congressional Districts and the state at-large, and two are appointed by the Governor.

Other current members of CCU's board of trustees are D. Wyatt Henderson (chairman) of Greer, William S. Biggs of Anderson, Samuel H. Frink of Conway, Natasha M. Hanna of Conway, Carlos C. Johnson of Roebuck, Marion B. Lee of Hemingway, Charles E. Lewis of Gaffney, William L. Lyles Jr. of Anderson, Daniel W. R. Moore Sr. of North Myrtle Beach, George E. Mullen of Hilton Head, Oran P. Smith of Leesville, Eugene C. Spivey of Myrtle Beach, Samuel J. Swad of Gaffney, Robert G. Templeton of Neeses and William E. Turner III of Greenville. DuBard’s inclusion on the board fills one of two existing openings.