In This Section

CCU trustees approve new degree programs

February 19, 2016

At its Feb. 19 meeting, Coastal Carolina University’s board of trustees approved two new degree programs: a new bachelor’s degree in Hispanic studies and a master of education (M.Ed.) degree in language, literacy and culture.

The degree in Hispanic studies is designed to provide graduates with the skills to apply their knowledge of Hispanic culture and their command of the Spanish language in diverse disciplines, including the medical, educational, business, tourism and service fields, in addition to other areas where interpreters and translators are needed. The degree fulfills CCU’s mission to foster a global perspective in which students are knowledgeable of the cultures and environments of the world. The B.A. in Hispanic studies will provide students with in-depth studies and a robust knowledge of the language. Two tracks give students the possibility of choosing between the practical use of language and culture (Hispanic studies for professions) or an advanced understanding of the culture (cultural studies).

The M.Ed. degree in language, literacy and culture will prepare graduates with the foundational skills needed to be effective literacy teachers. Participants will be required to focus on one of two specializations: literacy or language and culture. The literacy specialization will provide participants with the necessary coursework for literacy teacher certification. The language and culture specialization focuses on coursework specific to ELLs (English language learner), referring to individuals who are learning English in addition to his or her own language. Graduates in this specialization will meet the requirements to earn South Carolina’s English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) certification.

Both degrees will begin in Fall 2017, pending approval from the S.C. Commission on Higher Education.

The board also approved a higher education revenue bond issue not to exceed $38 million. The sale of the bonds will fund CCU’s expansion of Brooks Stadium as required by the University’s athletic affiliation with the Sun Belt Conference, effective July 1, 2016. The expansion will increase the seating capacity at Brooks Stadium to meet NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) requirements.

Seven property leases were renewed by the board. The board also granted an easement to Santee Cooper allowing the utility to perform necessary underground work for the new academic office building at 115 Chanticleer Drive E. Ground was broken on the project two weeks ago.

The board also approved recommendations for faculty promotion and/or tenure. Twenty-one faculty members have been promoted to associate professor with tenure: Richard Aidoo, Christina Anderson, Ogul Arslan, Susan Bergeron, Megan Cevasco, Adam Chamberlain, Kristal Curry, Ronald Green, Juli Harding, Kyle Holody, Kurt Hozak, Corey Lee, Stephanie Miller, Michael Murphy, Kate Oestreich, Anna Oldfield, Denise Paster, Tripthi Pillai, Jamia Thomas-Richmond, Andrew Terranova and Dustin Thorn.

Six faculty members were promoted from associate to full professor: Deborah Breede, Erin Burge, Becky Childs, Thomas Hoffman, Bomi Kang and Paul Richardson.

One faculty member, Jill Trinka, was promoted to full professor with tenure. Associate professor Wanda Dooley was also approved for tenure.

The board approved distinguished professor emeritus status for retiring faculty member Paul C. Peterson. Kenneth A. Rogers was approved for distinguished professor emeritus status at a previous meeting of the board.