In This Section

Students and faculty recognized at honors convocation

April 18, 2000

Coastal Carolina University presented awards to students and faculty for achievements during the 1999-2000 academic year at the annual Honors Convocation held on Monday, April 24.

Robin Turner, a senior finance and management double major of Timmonsville, S.C., received the Faculty's Academic Excellence Award. Candidates for this award must attain a minimum cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5, the endorsement of a faculty adviser, and a record of academic honors. Turner has been named to Coastal's President's List a total of five times and has a 3.97 grade point average. During her junior and senior years, she has been in the Wall Fellows program, an intensive leadership program for Coastal's top business majors. Turner has also been a member of several national academic honor societies and has participated in several clubs on campus.

Brian Behrens, a senior marine science and biology double major of Conway, S.C., received the Ronald D. Lackey Service Award. Named in honor of the late Ron Lackey, a former Coastal faculty member and university chaplain who died in 1999, the award is given annually to a senior on the basis of conspicuous service to the university through involvement and leadership in campus organizations. Behrens, a member of the Coastal's Honors Program, has been an effective leader in many campus organizations, including Sigma Zeta, a national science and math honor society. Behrens also has been active in Coastal's Student Government Association, the Student Alumni Association, Coastal Productions Board, and Students Taking Active Responsibility (STAR), the university's community service organization.

Nelljean Rice, assistant professor of English, was presented the Student Affairs Division Award. The Student Affairs award honors faculty who make significant contributions to the quality of student life through participation and leadership in the co-curricular activities of the university. A Coastal faculty member since 1987, Rice serves as faculty adviser for Tempo, Coastal's student magazine. She earned a bachelor's degree in English from Beloit College in 1971, a master's degree in English from Eastern Washington State University in 1973, a master of fine arts in creative writing from the University of Arkansas in 1976 and a Ph.D. from the University of South Carolina in 1997.

Richard Koesterer, associate professor of biology, was presented the Distinguished Teacher of the Year Award. The Teacher of the Year Award recognizes faculty who demonstrate excellence in teaching. Koesterer joined the Coastal faculty in 1979. He was the coordinator of the interdisciplinary studies degree program for four years and was director of freshman programs for two years. He earned a bachelor's degree in 1970 and Ph.D. in 1975 in biology from St. Louis University. Before joining the Coastal faculty, he was a lecturer in the department of zoology at Kenyatta University College in Nairobi, Kenya, from 1975 to 1979.

Stephen Nagle, professor of English, received the Distinguished Teacher-Scholar Lecturer Award. Sponsored by HTC, this award was initiated in 1996 to recognize faculty members who distinguish themselves as teachers, scholars and communicators. During the fall, the recipient delivers a public lecture drawn from his or her area of expertise. Nagle joined the Coastal faculty in 1972. Since 1986 he has served as director of international programs. His scholarly efforts have been devoted to the historical and contemporary analysis of the English language and his contributions in those areas have earned regional, national and international recognition for him as a linguistics scholar. He has held visiting professorships in Poland and Vienna, has been a Fulbright Lecturer and was recently elected Fellow of University-College Northampton in England. Nagle earned a bachelor's degree in French in 1970, master's degree in English in 1972 and Ph.D in linguistics in 1986, all from the University of South Carolina.

Department awards were presented to 25 students in recognition of outstanding academic accomplishments and contributions to the academic quality of their respective departments. Candidates for academic awards are nominated by respective department faculty.

Peter B. Barr, dean of the E. Craig Wall Sr. School of Business Administration, presented the following awards:

Accounting - Erika Hill of North Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Finance - Robert M. Clinger, III of Conway, S.C.; Management - Robin F. Turner of Timmonsville, S.C.; Marketing - Todd Krajeck of Canton, Ohio

Dennis Wiseman, dean of the School of Education, presented the following awards:

Early Childhood Education - Catherine Troegner of North Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Elementary Education - Susan Bradham of Surfside Beach, S.C.; Health - Stephanie S. Dunnavant of Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Physical Education - Gregory Simpson of Murrells Inlet, S.C.; Recreation - Laura Weaver of North Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Secondary Education - Leslie Elliott of Nichols, S.C.

Edgar L. Dyer, interim dean of the School of Humanities and Fine Arts, presented the following awards:

Art Studio - Beth Dambman of Myrtle Beach, S.C.; English - Brianna Glance of Chambersburg, Pa.; Foreign Languages - Erin Linden of Conway, S.C.; History - Jessica Hoover of Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Music - Farrah Dill of Murrells Inlet, S.C.; Philosophy and Religion - Winfred S. Bryant of Conway, S.C.; Politics and Geography - Jillane Kent of Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Theater - Nicole D'Arcangelo of Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Valgene L. Dunham, dean of the School of Natural and Applied Sciences, presented the following awards:

Biology - Terasa Pauquette of Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Chemistry - Christina Brown of Myrtle Beach, S.C.; Computer Science - Niclas Mattsson of Loris, S.C.; Marine Science - Tara Miller of Hixson, Tenn.; Mathematics - Rebecca Hillman of Campbell, N.Y.; Psychology - Jolene Williams of Middleburg, Ind.; Sociology - Dorie Biagianti of Conway, S.C.

Paul Sweeney of Little River, S.C., received the Interdisciplinary Studies Award from Peter B. Balsamo, dean of Extended Learning and Public Services.

Denvy A. Bowman, director of Coastal's Honors Program, presented medallions to the following students, who have successfully completed the requirements of the Honors Program:

Brian Behrens of LaPlata, Md. - Marine Science and Biology; Robert R. Camp of Myrtle Beach, S.C. - Management and Marketing; Maegan A. Carsey of Mentor, S.C. - Biology; Kevin R. Cox of Conway, S.C. - Marketing and Finance; George J. Fromm of Orchard Park, N.Y. - Biology; Kimberly A. Gray of Blue Bell, Pa. - Marine Science; Jaime M. Hilliard of Walworth, N.Y. - Marine Science and Biology; Tara L. Miller of Hixson, Tenn. - Marine Science; Terasa M. Pauquette of Myrtle Beach, S.C. - Biology; Alicia M. Pulchinski of Lombard, Ill. - Biology; Brophy J. Ringdahl of Lincoln, Neb. - Arts; Kimberly N. Shelley of Conway, S.C. - English; Karen M. Sanders of Pikeville, Ky. - Biology; Derek R. Trail of Myrtle Beach, S.C. - History; Robin F. Turner of Timmonsville, S.C. - Management and Finance; Jolene E. Williams of Middleburg, Ind. - Psychology; Michael S. Wetz of Lowell, Ohio - Marine Science

The more than 300 members of Coastal's 15 honor societies and 25 students listed in Who's Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities were also acknowledged.