In This Section

CCU faculty earn promotions

May 13, 2002

The Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees has approved recommendations by the administration for faculty promotions and tenure.

David DeCenzo, incoming dean of the E. Craig Wall Sr. College of Business Administration has been awarded tenure.

The board approved emeritus status for the following retiring faculty members:

Les Whitley, emeritus professor of biology; William Horace Wood, emeritus professor of education.

The following faculty promotions were approved:

Jessie Brown, to professor of education; Michael Ferguson, to professor of biology; Brian Nance, to professor of history; Prashant Sansgiry, to professor of mathematics; Ken Townsend, to professor of history; Sam Wathen, to professor of management; Margaret Fain, to librarian; Olcay Akman, to associate professor of mathematics with tenure; David Bankston, to associate professor of music with tenure; Stephen Bush, to associate professor of biology with tenure; Taylor Damonte, to associate professor of management with tenure; John Goodwin, to associate professor of chemistry with tenure; Ioana Mihaila, to associate professor of mathematics with tenure; Jose Sanjines, to associate professor of Spanish with tenure; and Eric Wright, to associate professor of marine science with tenure.