In This Section

Spivey elected to Coastal's Board of Trustees

May 23, 2002

Eugene "Gene" C. Spivey has been elected by the S.C. General Assembly to serve as a member of Coastal Carolina University's Board of Trustees. Spivey fills one of the three at-large seats on the board. His term runs through June 2003.

Spivey is vice president of Horry Land Company, one of the oldest real estate and land development companies in Horry County. Since 1990 he has served on the S.C. State Housing, Finance and Development Authority Board of Commissioners, where he is a past chairman. In 1998 Spivey was awarded the Order of the Palmetto for public service and community involvement by former Gov. Beasley.

Since 1988 Spivey has been an active member of the CINO Club, Coastal's athletic booster organization.

Spivey, whose grandfather Collins A. Spivey is an honorary founder of Coastal, earned a bachelor's degree in business administration from Coastal in 1991.

Coastal's Board of Trustees has 17 members: 15 are elected by the General Assembly (two from each Congressional District and three from the state at large), and two are appointed by the Governor.

Other members of Coastal's Board of Trustees are Payne H. Barnette Jr. of Greenwood, Robert D. Brown of Camden, Fred F. DuBard Jr. of Florence, Cathy B. Harvin of Summerton, Charles Hodge of Spartanburg, Hal B. Holmes Jr. of Conway, Dean P. Hudson of Conway, James F. Kane of Columbia, William L. Lyles Jr. (vice chairman) of Anderson, Daniel W. R. Moore Sr. of North Myrtle Beach, Clark B. Parker (chairman) of Myrtle Beach, Juli S. Powers of Cheraw, Robert L. Rabon of Conway, Keith S. Smith of Greer, Oran P. Smith of Leesville and George L. Williams Sr. (secretary) of Conway.