In This Section

Coastal's History Honor Society inducts 18 new members

November 20, 2002

Eighteen students have been inducted into Coastal Carolina University's chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, a national honor society for history students.

The Psi-Mu chapter of Phi Alpha Theta was established at Coastal Carolina University in 1978. To be eligible for membership, students must have taken at least 12 hours of history courses and must maintain a 3.0 grade point average.

Phi Alpha Theta encourages historical research, excellence in teaching, scholarly publication and the exchange of learning among students of history. The society was organized at the University of Arkansas in 1921 and has grown to more than 850 chapters. One of the largest honor societies in the United States, the organization offers numerous awards and scholarships to undergraduate and graduate student members. Each year approximately 40 regional meetings are convened at which students present research papers.

The Nov. 18 induction ceremony followed a keynote address by Raymond Arsenault, the John Hope Franklin Professor of Southern History at the University of South Florida.

The new members are:

- Tyson Siegler, a senior history major of Highland, N.Y.;
- Robert Brown, a senior history major of Conway;
- Elyse Rice, a senior history major of Myrtle Beach;
- Gabrielle Smart, a senior history major of Conway;
- Brandie Carlucci, a senior history major of Stamford, Conn.;
- Susan Yackey, a junior biology major of Columbia;
- Victoria Stevens, a senior interdisciplinary studies major of Myrtle Beach;
- Taurean Davis, a junior history major of Duncan;
- William Brown II, a senior political science major of Conway;
- Caroline Harris, a junior sociology major of Conway;
- Nicole Pilia, a junior history major of Myrtle Beach;
- Shaun Perini, a recent Coastal graduate of Myrtle Beach;
- Susan Voorhees, a senior sociology major of Myrtle Beach;
- Charles Whyte, a senior history major of Myrtle Beach;
- Jennifer Herrmann, a senior psychology major of Surfside Beach;
- Cameron Mott, a senior history major of Loris;
- Joe Seth Morrow, a senior history major of Conway; and
- Shirley Armstrong, a senior early childhood education major of Georgetown.