In This Section

Lecturer offers 9 nutrition tips for healthier South Carolina

October 7, 2004

Sharon H. Thompson, professor of health promotion at Coastal Carolina University, will give a public lecture, Nine Nutrition Tips for a Healthier South Carolina on Thursday, Oct. 21, at 7:30 p.m. in the Wall Auditorium. The lecture is the 2004 installment of the annual HTC Distinguished Teacher-Scholar Lecturer series. The event, sponsored by HTC, is free and open to the public.

In her lecture, Thompson outlines a nine-point plan for healthy eating. She draws on the latest research to create a diet program designed to reduce the risk of disease and prevent obesity.

Thompson received the HTC Distinguished Teacher-Scholar Lecturer Award in April 2004 at Coastals annual Honors Convocation. The award was initiated in 1996 to recognize faculty members who distinguish themselves as teachers, scholars and communicators. She is the ninth recipient of the award.

Thompson, a professor of health promotion, was the recipient of the Excellence in Community Nutrition Award from the Dannon Institute in 2003 and The Sun News Volunteer of the Year Award for 2003-2004. She has presented scholarly papers in local, state and national venues. Her research on nutrition and body image has been widely praised in scholarly circles. She is chairperson of the Waccamaw Youth Center and of the Horry County School District Comprehensive Health Education Advisory Committee.

Thompson joined the Coastal faculty in 1993 and was instrumental in establishing a bachelors degree in health promotions at Coastal. In 1998, she was presented the Student Affairs Division Award, which honors faculty who have made significant contributions to the quality of student life through participation and leadership in the co-curricular activities of the university.

She earned a bachelors degree in plant sciences from Clemson University, a masters degree in community and occupational education and an Ed.D. in health education administration, both from the University of South Carolina.