facebook icon twitter youtube

Horry County Higher Education Commission


The Horry County Higher Education Commission was formed in 1959 by the South Carolina General Assembly to oversee the use of county tax millage for Coastal Carolina. Today, there are 16 members of the commission who are appointed by the Governor of South Carolina and recommended by the Horry County Legislative Delegation to represent Horry County.

Meet the Commissioners

View Coastal Carolina University History and Traditions


The HCHEC offers numerous scholarship opportunities to Horry County high school graduates who choose to attend Coastal Carolina University. Most of the scholarships are application-based, and selection criteria include the review of one or more of the following: high school scholastic performance, volunteerism and contribution to the local community, talent in the visual and performing arts, and/or academic progress at Coastal Carolina University. The deadline to apply for the HCHEC application-based scholarships is March 1 of each year. For more information, please visit HCHEC Scholarships.


The HCHEC meets the third Thursday of the month, as announced. For information, call Mirinda Chestnut at 843-349-2283.


Each academic year the HCHEC awards academic scholarships to deserving Horry County students who choose to attend Coastal Carolina University.

 Learn more >>