Link to CCU Home Page
Link to Quick Links
Link to Search Link to CCU Home Page
News Releases -> newsarticles
spacer image
February 12, 2016   
Posted: April 28, 2014
2014 Student involvement and leadership awards announced

  Meghan Laffin won the Ronald D. Lackey Service Award.  
Faculty and students gathered for Coastal Carolina University’s Student Involvement and Leadership Awards (SILA) ceremony on Wednesday, April 23, in Wheelwright Auditorium. The Ronald D. Lackey Service Award was awarded to senior marketing major, Meghan Laffin, an honor student, Wall Fellow and volleyball player at CCU with a 3.87 grade point average.

Trophies this year were called “the SILA” and were in the shape of a rooster (in honor of CCU’s mascot, the Chanticleer).

Other awards given during the ceremony included:

Office of Student Activities and Leadership Awards

Haven Hart Impact Award: Kaitlin Page

Student Leader of the Year: Tyler Van Moppes

Teal Traditions Award: CINO Day 2013

Rising Leader of the Year: Ray Taylor

Outstanding Community Service by an Individual: Nicole Slatky

Educational Program of the Year: The Wellness Fair

Student Organization Advisor of the Year: Jerome Christia

Outstanding Community Service by a Student Organization: NAACP

Unsung Hero: Alex Richardson

Student Organization President of the Year: Harry Titus

Bell Tower Award (Program of the Year): Miss Coastal Carolina University Pageant

Student Organization of the Year: SAGE (Students Advocating for Gender Equality)

Fraternity and Sorority Life Awards

Greek Man of the Year: Tyler Van Moppes and Hayes McLeod

Greek Woman of the Year: Alexis Van Moppes

Chapter of the Year, Outstanding Campus Involvement by a Chapter, Outstanding Community Service by a Chapter and Outstanding New Initiative: Pi Kappa Phi

Chapter President of the Year: Allison Roof

Most Improved Chapter of the Year and Outstanding Recruitment/Intake by a Chapter: Sigma Sigma Sigma

Outstanding Risk Reduction and Programming by a Chapter: Alpha Delta Pi

Chapter Advisor of the Year: Holly Legg

Outstanding Philanthropy by a Chapter: Sigma Phi Epsilon

Campus Partners

Student Affairs Division Award: Mark Flynn

Tutor of the Year: Kari Elkins

Club Sport of the Year: Ice Hockey

SGA Best Legislation of the Year: Cameron Driver for “Safe Crosswalk Legislation”

Rising Senator of the Year: Edwin Harris

Chad Michael Beaty Senator of the Year: Alessandro Mannino

Patricia Singleton-Young Student Advocate Award: Wes Fondren

S.N.A.P. Mentor of the Year: Maya Burney

Leadership Challenge Member of the Year: Constance Wright

Resident Assistant of the Year: Lauren Rose

ODK Undergraduate Leader of the Year: Austin Nichols

ODK Circle Leader of the Year: Erica Norwood

StepUp! Recognition: Kelsey Gowell, Johnny Quartuccio, Shane Wolchak, Ricki Damico, and CCU Saltwater Anglers

ODK Service Award: Brantay Cohens

Search Options:
Select Specific Year(s):
2014 2006
2013 2005
2012 2004
2011 2003
2010 2002
2009 2001
2008 2000
View ALL Archived News
Link to CCU Home Page
University Policies | Site Policies | Contact Us
© 2016 Coastal Carolina University | P.O. Box 261954, Conway, SC 29528-6054 | +1 843-347-3161