In This Section

Philosophy and Religious Studies Faculty and Staff

Dennis Earl
Department Chair, Associate Professor of Philosophy
Areas of specialization: metaphysics, logic
Edwards 275 | 843-349-4094 | dearl@coastal.edu

Judy Dow
Administrative Specialist
Edwards 274 | 843-349-2731 | jdow1@coastal.edu

Norman Abernathy
Teaching Associate, Religious Studies
Area of specialization: Christianity
Sands Hall 124 | 843-409-0900 | nabernat@coastal.edu

William Baird
Teaching Associate, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: history of philosophy, philosophy of technology
Kimbel Library 221 | wpbaird@coastal.edu

Ronald Green
Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: Buddhism, Hinduism, East Asian religions
Edwards 279 | 843-349-2782 | rgreen@coastal.edu

Jeffry Halverson
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: Islam, history of religions
Edwards 281 | 843-349-2974 | jhalverso@coastal.edu

Benjamin Hamby
Lecturer in Philosophy
Areas of specialization: argumentation, critical thinking, ethics
Sands Hall 124 | bhamby@coastal.edu

David Holiday
Ethics Fellow, Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values
Areas of specialization: ethics, human rights
Edwards 217 | 843-349-5058 | dholiday@coastal.edu

Eva Kort
Lecturer in Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ethics, modern philosophy
Edwards 277 | 843-349-2677 | ekort@coastal.edu

Chan Ju Mun
Teaching Associate
Areas of specialization: Buddhism, East Asian religions
Sands Hall 115 | 213-675-0336 | cmun@coastal.edu

Julinna Oxley
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ethics, feminist philosophy
Edwards 280 | 843-349-6548 | joxley@coastal.edu

Ed Perez
Teaching Associate, Philosophy
Area of specialization: metaphysics, philosophy of religion
Kimbel Library 221 | eperez@coastal.edu

Nils Rauhut
Director of Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values, Professor of Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ancient philosophy, logic
Edwards 232 | 843-349-2547 | nrauhut@coastal.edu

Michael Ruse
Director of University Honors Program (Honors Program webpage), Associate Professor of Philosophy
Areas of specialization: phenomenology, philosophy of technology, social and political philosophy
Kearns 116 | 843-349-2548 | mruse@coastal.edu

Renee Smith
Professor of Philosophy
Areas of specialization: philosophy of mind, epistemology, logic
Edwards 282 | 843-349-2083 | rsmith@coastal.edu

Clifford Sosis
Lecturer in Philosophy
Areas of specialization: philosophy of science, ethics
Edwards 276 | 843-349-2293 | csosis@coastal.edu

Alan Todd
Lecturer in Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: Judaism, early Christianity
Edwards 276 | 843-349-4141 | atodd1@coastal.edu

Jonathan Trerise
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ethics, political philosophy
Edwards 267 | 843-349-2993 | jtrerise@coastal.edu

Casey Woodling
Lecturer in Philosophy
Areas of specialization: philosophy of mind, ethics
Sands Hall 124 | 843-349-6922 | cwoodling@coastal.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Claudia McCollough
Founding Director of the Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values
Areas of specialization: ethics, philosophy of literature

Philip Schneider
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ethics, philosophy of science