facebook icon twitter youtube

Department of Computing Sciences Faculty and Staff

Professors

 

Dr. Crystal Cox Dr. Crystal Cox
Assistant Professor
CSCC 160F 
843.349.2144
crystal@coastal.edu
 
Bio: Dr. Crystal Cox is an Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems at Coastal Carolina University. She completed her undergraduate degree in Computer Science here at Coastal, where she graduated as valedictorian. After graduation, she worked as a programmer/analyst at Horry Telephone.
Research Interests: security patterns, pattern languages, aspect-oriented programming 
 Jean French Dr. Jean H. French
Associate Professor
CSCC 160H 
843.234.3430
jennis@coastal.edu

Bio: Jean French earned an MBA from the University of Massachusetts / Boston (2000), and a Ph.D. in Computer Information Systems from Nova Southeastern University (2011). She also earned a Graduate Certificate in Information Assurance: Administration in Information Security from Nova Southeastern University.
Research Interests: Multimedia 
 William Jones Dr. William Jones Jr 
Chair & Assoc. Prof.
CSCC 160N 
843.349.4142
wjones@coastal.edu

Bio: William Jones is a native of Conway, SC. He graduated from Conway High School in 1995 and attended Clemson University where he obtained a BS ('99), MS ('00) and PhD ('05), each in Computer Engineering.
Research Interests: My research interests include parallel computing, parallel file systems, computational grids, job scheduling, performance evaluation and modeling, and discrete event simulation. 
Dr. Sathish A.P Kumar 
Assistant Professor
CSCC 160L 
843.349.2810 
skumar@coastal.edu
Bio: Sathish A.P Kumar has more than a decade experience in industry prior to joining academia. He received his Ph.D. in CS (2007), MS in CS (2001) and MBA (2001) from the University of Louisville, KY. His PhD research is in the area of design and development of Intrusion Detection and Response frameworks for Cyber Security.
Research interests:
 Cyber Security (Pertaining to Cloud Security, RFID Security and Social Network Security), Cloud Computing/Big Data Analytics and Bio-Medical/Health Informatics Applications
 Jeff Linder Prof. Jeff Linder
Assistant Professor 
CSCC 160C 
843.349.2829 
jeff@coastal.edu 
Bio: I was born and raised in a small farm town in Illinois. After dropping out of college, I worked professional theater in New York and New Jersey for 2 years. I went into the military and served 5 years. I then went back to college and finished my under graduate degree in 1975. I spent 9 years teaching middle school and high school Math, coaching several sports, including wrestling, track, golf, baseball, football and basketball. I taught at Western Illinois University for four years, and came to Coastal in 1988.
Research Interests: Introductory programming, machine based programming, and critical thinking. Programming languages and the history/time line of how they developed.
Michael Murphy Dr. Michael Murphy
Assistant Professor 
CSCC 160D 
843.349.2834 
mmurphy2@coastal.edu
Bio: Dr. Mike Murphy earned his B.S. in Computer Science from the Clemson University Calhoun Honors College in 2005, where he graduated summa cum laude. After a brief period of study at Syracuse University, he returned to Clemson University, completed his Ph.D. in Computer Science in May 2010, and then joined the CCU faculty in August 2010. 
Research Interests: Cyberinfrastructure, environmental sensing systems, atmospheric and environmental modeling, data management.
Erin Rickard Dr. Erin Rickard
Associate Professor 
CSCC 160E 
843.349.2098 
hrickard@coastal.edu 
Bio: Erin Rickard received a B.S.E.E. (’99) and M.Eng. (’01) in Electrical Engineering from the University of Louisville. She earned the Ph.D. (’08) in Computer Science Engineering researching the effectiveness of self-organizing maps for mammographic image analysis. 
Research Interests: My research interests include biomedical image analysis, image processing, computational intelligence, neural networks, clustering algorithms, machine learning and medical image perception.

Lecturers

 

Joyce Barnes Prof. Joyce Barnes 
Lecturer 
CSCC 160B 
843.349.2359 
jbarnes@coastal.edu
Bio: Joyce Barnes is a native of Cleveland, Ohio. In 1993, Joyce earned a BS in Education from Miami University, Oxford, Ohio and has taught in Ohio, NC and SC. She earned a Masters from Lesley University, Cambridge, MA in 2000 and was hired to work as an adjunct professor at Coastal and HGTC, and later as a full-time lecturer at Coastal in 2010. 
Teaching Interests: Microsoft Office Suite, distance learning education.
 Clint Fuchs Prof. Clint Fuchs
Lecturer 
CSCC 160J 
843.349.2676 
clintf@coastal.edu
Bio: Clint Fuchs completed his undergraduate degree in Psychology (BS), and earned a MS in Computer Science from the University of South Carolina in 2002. Prof. Fuchs became a full-time lecturer for the department in 2009. 
Research Interests: Data mining, education, machine learning, mobile app development, and software engineering
 ‌‌‌‌‌Computing Sciences Department Lecturer Cory Nance Prof. Cory Nance 
Lecturer 
CSCC 160I 
843.349.2646 
canance@coastal.edu

 

Bio: Prof. Nance completed his master's degree in Computer Science at Georgia Southern University, and his undergraduate degree at Coastal Carolina University. He has experience working with relational databases, software development, and as a systems administrator. 
Research Interests: System administration, design patterns, and data mining

 

Staff

Computing Sciences Department Administrative Specialist Lesley Holody Mrs. Lesley Holody 
Admin. Specialist 
CSCC 160M 
843.349.2116 
lholody@coastal.edu
Bio: Lesley Holody is a native of Roanoke, Virginia. She attended Mary Washington College (now Univ. of Mary Washington) in Fredericksburg, Virginia, where she earned a B.A. in International Affairs. She then worked in the fuel industry for 5 years before moving to Myrtle Beach in 2011. She, her husband, and her dog Roby, all love living in Myrtle Beach. Outside of work, Ms. Holody enjoys reading mystery novels, practicing speaking and reading French, and visiting the beach. She is thrilled to be a part of the CSIS department at CCU!

Professors Emeriti

 ‌ Prof. E. Eugene Collins
Professor Emeritus 
CSCC 160L 
843.349.2072 
gene@coastal.edu
Bio: Professor Collins is retired Professor Emeritus of Mathematics and Computer Science. He attended the University of South Carolina where he earned a BS in Mathematics in 1970 and MS in Mathematics in 1972. In 1979-81 he retrained in computer science, taking additional graduate courses at the University of South Carolina. 
Research Interests: Computer Science education, ethics in computer science, programming languages.
 Steve Sheel Dr. Steve Sheel
Distinguished Professor Emeritus 
Atlantic Center 119 
843.349.2116 
843.283.9991 (cell) 
steves@coastal.edu
Bio: Dr. Stephen Sheel, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Computer Science, joined the Coastal Carolina University faculty in 1988. He has twice had the honor to Chair the Department of Computer Science & Information Systems at Coastal. Dr. Sheel played an instrumental role in the establishment of the South Carolina Gamma Chapter of Upsilon Pi Epsilon, the International Honor Society for the Computing Sciences, the ABET accreditation for the Computer Science Degree and the establishment of the BS Degree in Information Systems. 
Research Interests: His research interests include: Computer Security, Machine Learning, Computer Science Education and Bioinformatics.

Teaching Associates

Timothy Burke 
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 165/160O 
843.349.2116 
tburke@coastal.edu
Jason Carman
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 160Q 
843.349.2116 
jcarman@coastal.edu
Chad Casselman 
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 160Q 
843.349.2116 
chadc@coastal.edu
Dr. Joyce Dorman 
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 165
843.349.2116 
jdorman@coastal.edu
Ross Foultz
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 160Q 
843.349.2116 
rfoultz@coastal.edu
Dennis French
Teaching Associate 
PRIN 205 
843.349.6538 
dennis@coastal.edu
Manonmani Kumar 
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 160M 
843.349.2116 
mkumar@coastal.edu
Bryan Lemon
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 160A
843.349.2116 

William Marilla
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 160M 
843.349.2116 
wmarilla@coastal.edu
Richard Matthews 
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 160M 
843.349.2116 
rmatthe@coastal.edu
T'Mars McCallum 
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 160Q
843.349.2116 
Jim Ochse 
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 160Q 
843.349.2116 
jochse@coastal.edu
James Streicher 
Teaching Associate 
KRNS 216D
843.349.2634 
jstreiche@coastal.edu
Katherine Wagner 
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 160M
843.349.2359 
kwagner@coastal.edu
Tally Wright 
Teaching Associate 
CSCC 165
843.349.2116 
tlwright@coastal.edu