facebook icon twitter youtube

Learn More

 Women in Philanthropy and Leadership logo


Join Us

Let's Connect


Singleton Building 102


facebook icon twitter icon YouTube icon LinkedIn icon

Celebration of Inspiring Women

The Celebration of Inspiring Women was established in 2011 to recognize and celebrate extraordinary women who have demonstrated visionary leadership in various disciplines and whose lives and accomplishments have had a substantive and positive impact in South Carolina and beyond. Since the program’s inception, 25 women have been recognized at the annual Celebration of Inspiring Women. They are (in alphabetical order):

Vivian Ayers-Allen (2011)



Maria Buse (2011)


Mignon L. Clyburn (2011)

Rebecca Wesson Darwin (2013)


Jeanne L. Fourrier (2012)

Darlene Marie Goff (2011)

Nikki Randhawa Haley (2011)

Patricia Harris (2012)

Kaye Hearn (2011)

Mamie “Peanut” Johnson (2014)

Bonnie McElveen-Hunter (2011)

Darley Newman (2012)

Wendi Nix (2014)

Muriel O'Tuel (2013)

Elizabeth Johnston Patterson (2013)

Sarah Reese (2013)

Anne Worsham Richardson (2012)

Velma "Von" Richardson (2012)

Frances Scott (2011)

Inez Moore Tenenbaum (2012)

Jean Hoefer Toal (2013)

To learn more, select a name above or use the links in the right column.

Inspiring Women

  • 2014 Inspiring Women
  • 2013 Inspiring Women
  • 2012 Inspiring Women
  • 2011 Inspiring Women
  • Nominate an Inspiring Woman