facebook icon twitter youtube

Inspiring Women


Women in Philanthropy and Leadership logo


Join Us

Let's Connect



facebook icon twitter icon YouTube icon LinkedIn icon

Dr. Vivian Ayers-Allen

Poet, cultural activist and Founding Director of the "Brainerd Institute Project," a subsidiary of The ADEPT Publications New American Folk Center, Inc. Vivian Ayers-Allen has been recognized by Cambridge Who's Who for dedication, leadership and excellence in all various aspects of her career. We honored her for her commitment and contributions to literary arts, for facilitating and promoting the artistic efforts of others, and for her preservation of an important South Carolina cultural landmark.

Commissioner Mignon L. Clyburn

Mignon L. Clyburn was ominated as a member of the Federal Communications Commission on June 25, 2009, and sworn in August 3, 2009. Her term expired June 30, 2012.

Commissioner Clyburn has a long history of public service and dedication to the public interest. Prior to her swearing in as Commissioner, she served for 11 years as the representative of South Carolina’s sixth district on the Public Service Commission of South Carolina (PSC). She was sworn in for her first term in July 1998, and was subsequently reelected in 2002 and 2006. She served as chair of the PSC from July 2002 through June 2004.

Dr. Maria Buse

Dr. Maria Buse joined the faculty at MUSC in 1957. Her career has been marked by sustained excellence in research, teaching and mentorship. She has had continuous funding from the National Institutes of Health for nearly 50 years. She has made substantial and sustaining contributions toward understanding basic mechanisms through which diabetes mellitus alters cellular function, ultimately resulting in micro- and macro-vascular disease, and organ failure. Dr. Buse was the first woman in MUSC’s 179-year history to receive the honor of Distinguished University Professor in 2003.

We honored her for her groundbreaking work in medical research and for her efforts forge new roles for women and create opportunities for future generations.

Brigadier General Darlene Marie Goff

Brigadier General Goff made history on January 7, 2011, when she was promoted from Colonel to Brigadier General. Goff became the first female general officer in the South Carolina National Guard.

We honored her for her dedicated service to the people of South Carolina and for opening new frontiers for women’s military leadership in the Palmetto State

Honorable Kaye Hearn

The Honorable Kaye Hearn, South Carolina Supreme Court Justice, made history in 2000 by becoming the first female chief judge of the Court of Appeals; on May 13, 2009 became only the second woman in state history to be elected to the South Carolina Supreme Court. • Awarded for effecting change through her visionary leadership within the public sector.

Governor Nikki Randhawa Haley

Elected on Tuesday, November 2, 2010, and one of the strongest fiscal conservatives in state government. Gov. Haley was first elected to represent the 87th District in Lexington County in 2004; when, as a virtual unknown, she beat the longest serving state legislator in a Republican primary. In 2008, Representative Haley was sent back to the Statehouse with 83 percent of the vote – the highest percentage earned by any lawmaker facing a contested South Carolina election that year. She won the Republican Party nomination for governor on Tuesday, June 22, 2010.

Honorable Bonnie McElveen-Hunter

Bonnie McElveen-Hunter was not only was she the first female chair of the American Red Cross, but was also the founder and CEO of Pace Communications and a former U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Finland.

We honored her for her extraordinary leadership in solving pressing challenges both domestically and globally as well as her professional leadership and consistent commitment to excellence.

Ms. Frances Scott

Frances Scott is the mother of U. S. Representative Tim Scott. We honored her for her selfless commitment to her child(ren) and for serving as an inspiration to mothers everywhere who nurture, encourage and support their children’s success