In This Section

Student  project raises record amount for Fostering Hope 

The Fostering Hope Experiential Learning Project is a semester-long service project involving 13 UNIV 110B classes taught by various UNIV 110 instructors; two MGMT 309 (Leading High-Performance Teams) classes taught by Cara Scheuer (nearly 450 total students); and Fostering Hope, a nonprofit organization that provides goods and services to local foster children. The project entails 51 student teams across the UNIV 110 and MGMT 309 classes gathering supplies and items for children in the foster care system.

A wrap-up event was held on Monday, Nov. 13, in Wheelwright Auditorium. Fifty-one teams, each of which was led by an MGMT 309 student, brought their collected items to a central location. Items included bikes, skateboards, tablets and other electronics, sports gear, school supplies, art supplies, health and beauty items, gift certificates to restaurants, movies and other forms of entertainment, as well as video games, outdoor games, books and motivational letters. The total amount raised for the project was $34,263.80.  

The items will be given to the foster children through Fostering Hope along with Wall College backpacks as part of their holiday gift packages.

The top three teams according to the following three criteria (e.g., most money raised, creativity and quality) and the Team Leader Excellence Award was also announced at the event. The founder of Fostering Hope, Tabby Shelton, and other Fostering Hope representatives also spoke to the students about the impact of their service project.

The 2017 winners are:

Team that raised the most money: 34


Leader: Noah Breeden

Members: Lauren Grace, Rachel Harding, Shanon Hausler, Jamie Jacobs, Kacie Jazikof and Joseph McAdams 

Most creative: 13

Leader: Emily Graham

Members: Jonathan Dela Cruz, Shane Evans, Ariel Frank, Leanne Faust, Hunter Holley and Dakoda Hudgins

Team that raised the highest quality supplies: 52

Leader: Lindsey Rowe

Members: Christian Hannon, Sean Morris, Daron Oliver, Rhiya Patel, Damian Sherrill Nicholas Snow Sowers, and Holly Waryas

Leadership Excellence Award

This award recognized the team leader for his/her exceptional team leadership skills throughout the project. The selection was based on nominations from team members, peer evaluation results and various project deliverables.                                                                                                                                               

Winner: Kilton Anderson

Runners-up: Trevor Greene and Peter Lebmann                       

Congratulations to all the winners. We are proud of our students’ efforts and the difference they make in the community.

Article courtesy of Kyla Van Graan.