Christopher Mathis

The official logo of 2016 #CCUfamily

Name: Christopher Mathis     

Hometown: Johnston, S.C.

Year in School: Sophomore                          

Major: History

Christopher is from Johnston, S.C.

Christopher's Video

Meet Christopher Mathis, a young man who says his mission is to impact lives of others on campus. Lofty goal, right? Not for someone with the motivation level of Chris. Just a sophomore, he has already influenced numerous students at CCU via his position as an orientation leader. Spending the summer introducing new students to #TEALnation, Chris used his leadership abilities and genuine charm to leave a lasting impression on the freshmen he counseled.

But Chris is humble. He states that he is able to have an impact on others because CCU has had an impact on him. Crediting the University for transforming him into a “productive young man,” Chris is grateful that his first year on campus prepared him to take on the important role of orientation leader.

Living by his own personal motto of “be the best I can be so I can live free,” Chris will undoubtedly continue to do great things at Coastal. Then, after he graduates in 2020, Chris will seek a job as a teacher. He wants to land at a high school where he can teach history and continue serving as a role model and leader. We can’t wait to watch Chris continue on his journey.  

Christopher is studying history.
Christopher is a Teal Trailblazer.

Q&A with Chris

How did you hear about Coastal?: I actually heard about Coastal from a relative.

Why did you come to Coastal?: I decided to attend CCU because I wanted to receive a great education.

Favorite professor: Alan Reid, Ph.D.

Favorite class: Latin History

Favorite aspect of Coastal?: I would say the various traditions, especially Teal Tuesday.

Favorite aspect of living in the Conway/Myrtle Beach area?: Campus is just a short distance away from the beach

Clubs/Intramurals/other extracurricular activities involved in?: African-American Initiative for Males (AAIM), National Honor Society, intramurals (football).

Do you work anywhere currently (either on or off campus)?: Yes. I am a Teal Trailbazer and a Life Program mentor.

Plans after graduation?: I want to attend graduate school.          

What are your hobbies?: Reading, watching sports and lifting weights.

Do you have any hidden talents?: I can sing!

Bonus Info: I love my hometown of Johnston, S.C., because I will never forget the place I will always call home.  I never forget where I came from to get me where I am today.