Emily Gore

The official logo of 2016 #CCUfamily

Name: Emily Gore

Hometown: Loris, S.C.

Year in School: Sophomore           

Major: History

Emily is from Loris, S.C.


Emily's Video

When deciding on where to attend college, Emily Gore didn’t need to look far. A Loris native, she was drawn to Coastal Carolina University. In love with the Grand Strand area and community, Emily says she “couldn’t imagine going anywhere else.”

Her main reason for attending CCU didn’t disappoint. A few semesters into her Coastal experience, Emily likens the campus community to “one big family.” In fact, she likes being a Chant so much that she already has her sights set on staying here for graduate school. A history major, she hopes to one day teach it at the secondary level. This goal had led her to express the desire to enroll in the Masters of Arts in Teaching program after she earns her undergraduate degree.

History not your thing? No worries because Emily has other diverse interests. A videographer, Emily is proficient in a skill that is in high demand these days. She also enjoys hitting the waves on her surf board. At the other end of the spectrum, she also plays the piano. On top of all that, she also owns her own business. Coastal is lucky to have this local product committed to area past graduation.    

Emily is a history major.
Emily is a sophomore.

Q&A with Emily

How did you hear about Coastal?: I grew up in the area, so Coastal has always been a part of home to me.

Why did you come to Coastal?: Coastal has always felt like home. I love the area and the community, and I couldn’t imagine going anywhere else.

Favorite professor: Eldred “Wink” Prince, Ph.D.

Favorite class: Intro to American Film

Favorite aspect of Coastal?: Coastal brings a sense of togetherness and is like one big family.

Favorite aspect of living in the Conway/Myrtle Beach area?: I love the proximity to the beach and all the events and attractions the area has to offer. There is always something to see or do!

Clubs/Intramurals/other extracurricular activities involved in?: I am part of the #CCUSocialMedia Student Advisory Group.

Do you work anywhere currently (either on or off campus)?: I help run my own business with my mom, Stitch Me Pink, LLC.

Plans after graduation?:  I hope to enroll in the Master of Arts in Teaching program at Coastal so I can teach secondary level history.

What are your hobbies?: I have been a freelance videographer for four years and have filmed and edited short films and commercials for local businesses and events. I also like to teach dance classes in the summer at a local studio.

Do you have any hidden talents?: I can surf and play piano.

Bonus Info:  My nickname (and what everyone calls me) is “Egg” because my initials are E.G.G.