Emily Rossi

The official logo of 2016 #CCUfamily

Name: Emily Rossi

Hometown: Irmo, S.C.

Year in School: Junior    

Major: Physical Education

Minor: Exercise and Sports Science

Emily is a junior.


Emily's Video

Emily Rossi has a passion for fitness. In fact, she plans to make a career out of it. A junior exercise sports science major from Irmo, S.C., Emily wants to find employment at a school district where she can teach physical education. She is building to that point by getting the most out of her classes, working at University Recreation and challenging her own physical limits.

But perhaps more impressive than her physical stamina and dedication to reaching her fitness goals is Emily’s thoughtfulness. Admired on campus by many, she volunteers at the Life Program as a mentor. When listing her hobbies, she puts “helping others” right next to fitness. People in the Coastal community appreciate her constant smile and friendly demeanor.

So what is it that has made Emily such a kind, genuine person? You can look at her parents. Emily identifies her mom and dad as her role models, crediting them with “impacting me in a way that has made me who I am.” We thank the Rossis for bringing up such a great daughter and we look forward to watching Emily become a physical educator in the school district of her choice.    

Emily is from Irmo, S.C.
Emily is a mentor for the Life Program.

Q&A with Emily

How did you hear about Coastal?: My brother is a year older than I am. He attended Coastal his freshman and sophomore year before transferring to the University of South Carolina. I fell in love with the school while visiting for his fall break.

Why did you come to Coastal?: Originally to be closer to the beach and only two and a half hours from home. Now those reasons just seem like more of a bonus seeing how many other positive impacts Coastal Carolina University has made in my life.

Favorite professor: Professor Lucas! Public Health 122.

Favorite class: Adapted Physical Education.

Favorite aspect of Coastal?: The fact that Coastal is my home away from home, the lifelong friendships that I have established.

Favorite aspect of living in the Conway/Myrtle Beach area?: Being relatively close to home yet closer to the beach!

Clubs/Intramurals/other extracurricular activities involved in?: Alpha Delta Pi, #CCU Fitness club, Sol.

Do you work anywhere currently (either on or off campus)?: I work at University Recreation as a student supervisor and front desk assistant. I also volunteer with the Life Program as a mentor.

Plans after graduation?: Travel to Alaska for as long as possible and then settle down and do what I love, and turning my passion for fitness into a lifestyle by being a physical educator.

What are your hobbies?: Working out, helping others.

Do you have any hidden talents?: I am really good at doing laundry. (Weird I know)