Megan O'Shea

The official logo of 2016 #CCUfamily

Name:  Megan O'Shea                        

Hometown: Sharon, Mass.

Year in School: Sophomore                          

Major: Exercise Science

Megan is from Sharon, Mass.


Megan's Video

While searching for colleges, Coastal Carolina University went to the top of the list for Megan O’Shea. The University was already on her radar because of family vacations to Myrtle Beach but there had to be something more than familiarity for Megan to make one of life’s biggest decisions. In the end, the welcoming vibe of the campus and the people on it convinced her to become a Chanticleer.

A sophomore now, Megan is a couple years removed from deciding on Coastal. She does not regret her choice one bit. Describing CCU as a place where “you can be who you want to be,” she has found a second home away from her northern dwelling in Sharon, Mass. By joining Sigma Sigma Sigma and playing on the CCU Women’s Club Rugby team, Megan has developed a strong social circle and made her college experience feel even more natural.

Megan wants to enter the chiropractic or physical therapy industry. She is off to a good start as she is studying exercise science. After earning her undergraduate degree, Megan says she wants to return to Massachusetts and enter graduate school. For the time being, we hope she continues to enjoy her time in #TEALnation.


Megan is a sophomore.
Megan wants to enter the chiropractic or physical therapy industry.

Q&A with Megan

How did you hear about Coastal?: I heard about Coastal by vacationing in Myrtle Beach every year.

Why did you come to Coastal?: I came to Coastal because it is warm and very welcoming!

Favorite professor: Derrick Bracey (English 102).

Favorite class: Human Anatomy and Physiology (BIOL 232).

Favorite aspect of living in the Conway/Myrtle Beach area?: The best part about living in the area is definitely being so close to the beach!

Clubs/Intramurals/other extracurricular activities involved in?: I play on the club women's rugby team and I am a sister of Sigma Sigma Sigma sorority.

Plans after graduation?: After graduation I hope to attend graduate school in Massachusetts.

What are your hobbies?: I like to read, play sports and teach children.

Do you have any hidden talents?: My hidden talent is that I can make balloon animals and paint faces because I used to dress up as different princesses for birthday parties!

Bonus Info: Be friendly to everyone. I make it a goal to always be friendly and nice to people.