Rachael Cormier

The official logo of 2016 #CCUfamily


Name: Rachael Cormier                                                                                               

Hometown: Wilmington, Mass.

Year in School: Junior                                                                   

Major: Exercise and Sport Science    

Minor: Sport Coaching


 Rachael is an exercise and sport science student.

Rachael's Video

Rachael Cormier is from Wilmington. No, not the Wilmington that is a 90 minute drive northeast of Conway but rather the town 864 miles away in Massachusetts. Just 20 minutes from Boston, Rachael left her close-knit hometown and became a Chanticleer to gain independence at a campus that still had a familiar cozy feel.

“Coastal has definitely prepared me more for the real world than if I would have stayed home,” Rachael reflects on her decision.

The exercise and sport science junior has her eye on an interesting career field: sport psychology. In order to prepare herself for a job within the industry, Rachael is minoring in sport coaching. The mind of an athlete needs coaching just as much as the body so her academic path makes sense.

When not in the classroom, Rachael stays busy with her sorority, Alpha Delta Pi, while also competing in intramural sports. She also holds down a campus job, working for University Recreation at the HTC Center Welcome Desk. A big fan of Boston professional sports teams, it becomes obvious that Rachael is passionate about all facets of athletics. But she is also passionate about always doing her best.

“I have a lot of plans for my future and I hold myself to a high standard,” Rachael says. “I just have to keep going after it.”

As long as she keeps that attitude, this ambitious student will continue to make Wilmington and CCU proud.

Rachael is a junior
Rachael is from Wilmington, Mass.

Q&A with Rachael

How did you hear about Coastal?: I was looking for schools in South Carolina and Coastal came up in my research.

Why did you come to Coastal?: I love that the school is big enough but not too big where you can't find a friendly face. I wanted to go somewhere new and gain some independence but still get the at-home atmosphere.

Favorite professor: Jamie Deitrick, Ph.D.

Favorite class: Psychology of Injury

Favorite aspect of Coastal?: The friendly atmosphere

Favorite aspect of living in the Conway/Myrtle Beach area?: Being close to the beach.

Clubs/Intramurals/other extracurricular activities involved in?: Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, Order of Omega, intramural sports.

Do you work anywhere currently (either on or off campus)?: I work on campus at the University Recreation HTC Welcome Desk.

Plans after graduation?:  Hopefully graduate school, but I have no idea where yet.         

What are your hobbies?: I love to hang out with my friends, go shopping, visit the beach and play with dogs.

Do you have any hidden talents?: I can read music and play the saxophone.

Bonus Info: I have two nieces and two nephews back home. I am the youngest of four and I have a huge extended family.