Savannah Arriola

The official logo of 2016 #CCUfamily

Name: Savannah Arriola

Hometown: Summerville, S.C.

Year in School: Senior

Major: Elementary Education

Minor: Spanish


Savannah's Video

Savannah Arriola encompasses it all. She is a leader, musician, artist and athlete. Whether it be leading a campus organization, playing an instrument in her church’s band, pursuing her love of theater or serving as an intramural referee, Savannah brought all of her talents to the Grand Strand area when she moved here from Summerville. As you can imagine, we aren’t complaining.

But wait; there is one additional characteristic we must mention about Savannah. She is a scholar. Not just in the sense that she performs well in the classroom but that she shares her gift of grasping concepts with others. A selfless and impactful tutor, Savannah works with both CCU student-athletes and Waccamaw Youth Center at-risk boys. Although these two groups have different needs and educational levels, she gives each individual attention and patience.

“People can rely on me to not get worried or stressed out,” Savannah explains. “They know I will be there for them whenever they need me.”

It probably comes as no surprise that Savannah wants to be a teacher. Making it no secret that she loves this area, she would prefer to start her career with Horry County Schools.  A Spanish minor who is well-traveled with endless experiences, Savannah will be a very attractive candidate to numerous districts so let’s cross our fingers that her preference becomes a reality.

CCU is fortunate that Savannah decided to become a Chanticleer. She has helped numerous people and will continue to do so up until she graduates in May. Enjoy your senior year, Savannah!

Q&A with Savannah

How did you hear about Coastal?: People from my church moved here and told me about the school.

Why did you come to Coastal?: I chose CCU over others because I loved that campus was just a campus and not in the middle of a city. Also, I came to help my church, Grand Strand Church, with its campus ministry at Coastal. I wanted to serve others in a new way.

Favorite professor: Jamia Richmond, Ph.D. I had Univ 110 my freshman year with her but since then I have had the opportunity to work with her as a research fellow. She was also my professional staff adviser when I was the resident adviser for the Teach Community.

Favorite class: I loved an English class I took that was all about Sherlock Holmes and Sir Conan Doyle. We read the original stories and talked about how all the different adaptations have changed and been impacted by new technology over time. It was one of the most interesting classes I have taken.

Favorite aspect of Coastal?: I love the Coastal community. I truly believe that I am a part of the CCU family. I love walking around campus and every few feet seeing someone I know because of my involvement at Coastal.

Favorite aspect of living in the Conway/Myrtle Beach area?: The Myrtle Beach and Conway area is honestly a fun and quirky place to live. One area is extremely touristic, the next is a neighborhood for retirees, then you have a college town, then you have farms. It makes it a completely unique place to live and I love being able to live here and plan on staying even after I graduate.

Clubs/Intramurals/other extracurricular activities involved in?: Freshman year I worked as an intramural referee. I am the president of Campus Advance, a club on campus. I am part of my church’s band called Second Sunday.  I sing, play the ukulele and also run the sound system.

Do you work anywhere currently (either on or off campus)?: On campus I work as a tutor and mentor in the athletic department. Off campus I work at Waccamaw Youth Center as a tutor to at-risk boys. In the past, I have served as an intramural ref, research fellow, office assistant in Video Production Services, and a resident adviser in Chanticleer Hall and the Low Country community.

Plans after graduation?:  I plan to get a job teaching with Horry County Schools.

What are your hobbies?: Playing music and taking part in many different sports. Also, I love musical theater and dance.

Do you have any hidden talents?: I can sing and dance! I can also play the guitar, ukulele, and piano.

Bonus Info: I have traveled to seven different countries about 15 times in Central America, the Caribbean and Africa to participate in benevolent and mission work. Working in a school in Guatemala when I was 13 is the reason I want to become a teacher. On one of the many trips I met my husband, Elder, a native of Honduras.