In This Section

Fall 2019 Highlights

Skype Consultations 

Historically, faculty have cited that busy schedules, personal responsibilities, and hectic commutes/parking have made it difficult to attend face-to-face sessions or consultations. The Center for Teaching Excellence to Advance Learning (CeTEAL) is dedicated to ensuring that faculty development is accessible for all and offers individual consultations, via Skype For Business, on a variety of topics including: effective teaching strategies, instructional design for in-class, hybrid, and online courses , documenting teaching effectiveness and improvement, integration of instructional technology, research and scholarship activities, etc.

 Skype for Business Logo

To schedule a virtual consultation today, please email us at ceteal@coastal.edu or visit CeTEAL's website On the CeTEAL site, click “Contact Us” in the upper left web menu, and select “Make an Appointment” in the Resource Links menu on the right.

Virtual Consultations Information

Call for Instructional Coaches

CeTEAL seeks instructional coaches for the 2019-2020 academic year. Instructional coaches provide peer-to-peer, confidential, non-evaluative classroom observations. You will take part in three face-to-face sessions. The sessions equip you with the tools you will need to produce confidential, strength-based classroom observations and follow-up discussions for fellow instructors. You will also take part in five elective sessions. CeTEAL will guide your through the process during your first two observations. In May, during the annual CeTEAL Celebration, you will receive an Instructional Coaching certificate.

Look at the Instructional Coaching flyer and contact ceteal@coastal.edu with questions.


CeTEAL Instructioanl Coach Novice Badge 

Instructional Coaching: Observing the Class
Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2019 from 10:50 a.m. - 12:05 p.m.
Register for this class

Friday, Sept. 13, 2019 from 2 - 3:15 p.m.
Register for this class

Instructional Coaching: Holding the Post-Observation Conference
Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2019 from 10:50 a.m. - 12:05 p.m.
Register for this class

Friday, Sept. 27, 2019 from 2 - 3:15 p.m.
Register for this class

Instructional Coaching: Writing the Report
Tuesday, October 8, 2019 10:50 a.m. - 12:05 p.m.
Register for this class

Friday, October 11, 2019 from 2 - 3:15 p.m.
Register for this class

Classroom  Observations

CeTEAL's approach to instructional coaching is strength-based and founded on our desire to help faculty members improve their instruction.

Having an instructional coach visit your classroom can help you recognize your teaching strengths and determine areas for improvement. Our instructional coaches are trained in the coaching/peer process and will provide you with constructive, strength-based feedback, as well as suggestions and strategies that work to improve teaching.

 
Instructional Coach Mentor Badge 

What will you gain from the experience?

  • Impartial observation of teaching practices from an experienced peer
  • Assistance/recommendations for becoming a better instructor/teacher to improve learning
  • Final report addressing your concerns and providing practical teaching strategies to improve student learning in your classes
  • Documentation of your efforts to improve your teaching for promotion and tenure
  • More understanding and decreased "power" of student evaluations
  • Confidential review process
Reserve your observation for the fall semester today!
Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams is an all-in-one application that combines many of the most widely-used Office365 features into a single interface. In this session, we will begin to investigate the basics of many of the available features that Teams has to offer such as project management, chat and web conferencing, file storage, and real-time collaboration. We will also discuss some practical ways that Teams can be integrated into your courses and everyday workflows.

Microsoft Teams Logo Purple background with White Images

Office365: Introduction to Microsoft Teams
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, from 12:15 - 1:15 p.m.
Register for this class

Mon, Aug 26, 2019 from 4 -5 p.m.
Register for this class

Tue, Aug 27, 2019 from 9:25 - 10:25 a.m.
Register for this class

Wed, Aug 28, 2019 from 4 - 5 p.m.
Register for this class

Mon, Sep 9, 2019 from 9 - 9:50 a.m.
Register for this class

Fri, Sep 20, 2019 from 2 - 2:50 p.m.
Register for this class

Mon, Sep 23, 2019 from 10 - 10:50 a.m.
Register for this class

Tuesday, Oct. 1, 9:25 - 10:40 a.m.
Register for this class

Tuesday, Oct. 8, 9:25 - 10:40 a.m.
Register for this class

Monday, Oct. 14, 1 - 1:50 p.m.
Register for this class

Thursday, Oct. 24, 1:40 - 2:55 p.m.
Register for this class

Research

CCU has a university-wide license for SPSS, and we have sessions on how to use this software effectively. We also have sessions about the use of some other technology tools to foster scholarly productivity including Microsoft OneNote and Mendeley.


SPSS Logo

Introduction to SPSS: The Basics
Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019 from 1:40 - 2:55 p.m.
Register for this class

Monday, Sept. 9, 2019 from noon - 1:15 p.m.
Register for this class

Monday, Oct. 7, 2019 from 11 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.M
Register for this class

Monday, Oct. 21, 2019 from 11 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.
Register for this class

Thursday, Nov. 7, 2019 from 10:50 a.m. - 12:05 p.m.
Register for this class

An Overview of Popular SPSS Tests
Tuesday, Sept. 17, 2019 from 9:25 - 10:40 a.m.
Register for this class

Thursday, Sept. 26, 2019 from 12:15 - 1:30 p.m.
Register for this class

Thursday, Oct. 10, 12:15 - 1:30 p.m.
Register for this class

Tuesday, Oct. 22, 12:15 - 1:30 p.m.
Register for this class

Bring Your Own Data for Cleaning: SPSS
Friday, Sept. 27, 2019 from 10 - 11:15 a.m.
Register for this class

Tuesday, Oct. 15, 12:15 - 1:30 p.m.
Register for this class


dedoose logo

Where (and Where Not) to Publish
Tuesday, Nov. 11, 2019 from 11 - 11:50 a.m.
Register for this class
 

Using Dedoose for Analyzing Qualitative and Mixed Methods Data: The Basics (Live Webinar)
Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019 from 1:40 - 2:30 p.m.
Register for this class

 

 Microsoft Onenote Logo 

Microsoft OneNote to Boost Scholarly Productivity and Research Organization
Thursday, Aug. 22, 2019 from 3:05 - 3:55 p.m.
Register for this class

Wednesday, Aug. 28, 2019 from 11 - 11:50 a.m.
Register for this class 

Tuesday, Oct. 22, 10:50 - 11:40 a.m.
Register for this class

 Mendeley Logo

Managing Your References: Mendeley
Wednesday, Sept. 4, 2019 from 2 - 2:50 p.m.
Register for this class

Monday, Sept. 16, 2019 from 11 - 11:50 a.m.
Register for this class

Wednesday, Oct. 2, 2019 from 11 - 11:50 a.m.
Register for this class

 

  

Microsoft OneNote to Boost Scholarly Productivity and Research Organization
Thursday, Aug. 22, 2019 from 3:05 - 3:55 p.m.
Register for this class

Wednesday, Aug. 28, 2019 from 11 - 11:50 a.m.
Register for this class 

Tuesday, Oct. 22, 10:50 - 11:40 a.m.
Register for this class

STEM

Starting from the Fall 2019, we will be offering STEM-specific sessions to recognize best practices for teaching in STEM fields. See below for our current offerings:

STEM Image

Strategies for Increasing Student Engagement in STEM Classrooms
Thursday, Aug. 29, 2019 from 1:40 - 2:30 p.m.
Register for this class

Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019 from 2 - 2:50 p.m.
Register for this class

Wednesday, Oct. 9, 11 - 11:50 a.m
Register for this class

Monday, Oct. 28, 11 - 11:50 a.m.
Register for this class

 

Designing a Three-Part Lesson for Problem-Based Learning
Thursday, Aug. 22, 2019 from 11 - 11:50 a.m.
Register for this class

Friday, Sept. 6, 2019 from 11 - 11:50 a.m.
Register for this class

Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2019 from 1 - 1:50 p.m.
Register for this class

Thursday, Oct. 3, 1:40 - 2:30 p.m.
Register for this class

Monday, Oct. 14, 11 - 11:50 a.m.
Register for this class