In This Section

Office of the CITO

University Technology Council

The University Technology Council (UTC) is a group of major academic and administrative stakeholders that provides collaborative guidance on technology issues of strategic importance and comprehensive impact to Coastal Carolina University students, faculty and staff, and other constituents. The UTC serves in an advisory capacity to assist the chief information technology officer (CITO) and the administration in guiding the vision and alignment of technology innovation, priorities and policies with the strategic direction of the University. The University Technology Council will:

  • Help develop and annually maintain the Technology Strategic Plan;
  • Review large scale or strategic initiative proposals (regardless of funding source) and especially those with campus-wide potential impact;
  • Ensure that large information technology initiatives are aligned with the University's mission and strategies;
  • Prioritize large proposals for new technology services and/or major enhancements/changes to existing services by anticipating University-wide impacts, dependencies, and available resources;
  • Review and recommend information technology policies, procedures, and standards that have campus-wide impact; and
  • Guide Coastal Carolina University in innovation and technological services, creating valuable experiences for students, faculty and staff.

The UTC meets five times annually; additional meetings may be scheduled as needed.

University Technology Council Members

J. Ralph Byington Provost and Executive Vice President
Deborah K. Conner Vice President, Campus Life and Student Engagement
Daniel J. Ennis Dean, Thomas W. and Robin W. Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts
Vice President, Academic Outreach
David A. Frost Interim Vice President for Finance and Administration/Chief Financial Officer 
Abdallah Haddad Chief Information and Technology Officer (CITO)
Matthew L. Hogue Director of Athletics
Edward Jadallah Dean, Spadoni College of Education
Vice President, Online Education and Teaching Excellence
Robyn A. Jones Chief Audit Officer
Daniel M. Lawless Registrar; Chair, Staff Advisory Council
William M. Plate Jr. Vice President, University Communication
Barbara A. Ritter Dean, E. Craig Wall Sr. College of Business Administration
Vice President for Executive Development and Career Services
Michael H. Roberts Executive Dean, College of Science
Vice President for Research and Emerging Initiatives
Renée Smith Professor, Philosophy and Religious Studies
Chair, Faculty Senate