In This Section

Ashley Sanders

The official logo of 2016 #CCUfamily

Name:  Ashley Sanders       

Hometown: North Augusta, S.C.

Year in School: Junior                 

Major:  Psychology

                                                                           

Ashley is from North Augusta, S.C.

 

Ashley's Video

Looking for a college that met her location and size requirements, Ashley Sanders turned to Coastal Carolina University. Growing up in North Augusta, she reasoned that the 230 miles between her home and Conway would be ideal. When it came to the size aspect, she agreed with other students who describe the 10,000 student population as “perfect.” When she became a Chant, she brought to campus her interests of music and working with kids.  

Ashley loves music. Talented at both playing instruments and singing, she cherished the music lessons she was enrolled in growing up. Her passion for music extends to mainstream culture as well. Ashley identifies Chance the Rapper as her favorite current artist because of his ability to tap into several different musical genres. A former member of the Coastal Inspirational Ambassadors, Ashley has been able to engage in her passion on campus.

Working with kids is what Ashley wants to do for a career. While at Coastal, she has worked toward her psychology degree.  With this education, it is her hope that it will lead to a job helping children. Upon graduating next academic year, Ashley hopes to gain some experience right away before attending graduate school. Our hope is that music and her drive to work with kids will always be with her.

Ashley is a junior.
Ashley is studying psychology.

Q&A with Ashley

How did you hear about Coastal?: I heard about it through my high school college fair and older friends who attended Coastal.

Why did you come to Coastal?: I really liked the location and the size of the university.

Favorite professor: Dr. Albiniak

Favorite class:  Psychology of Marriage

Favorite aspect of Coastal?: I enjoy both the community and school spirit.

Favorite aspect of living in the Conway/Myrtle Beach area?: There is always something to do and new people to meet.

Clubs/Intramurals/other extracurricular activities involved in?: I am Involved in Women of Color and Kingdom Body Builders (KBB) Bible Study.

Do you work anywhere currently (either on or off campus)?: I currently work as a student assistant for the Environmental Health and Safety Department.

Plans after graduation?: I want to travel and gain some on-hands experience in my field. I then eventually want to attend grad school.

What are your hobbies?: I enjoy spending time with my friends. If I am not in class, I am with a friend catching lunch, doing homework, or just chilling. Other than that, in my alone time I enjoy finding new music, doodling or coloring and reading. I am always on the lookout for an interesting book.

Do you have any hidden talents?:  Many people don’t know that I am a musical person and I love music. I grew up in music lessons and I can play piano, flute and percussion instruments. I also have been in choir since middle school. I actually was in the CIA Gospel Choir on campus but had to be inactive for a while because of my course load.

Bonus Info: I am always down to meet new people, so if you see me on campus, feel free to say hi. I promise that I am nicer than my “walking to class” face makes me look.