news-article - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

CCU student leadership award winners announced

May 2, 2012

Awards for student leadership and organizational achievement were presented at Coastal Carolina Universitys annual Student Involvement and Leadership Awards ceremony. A total of 42 awards were handed out to students, professors and various student organizations.

Heather Estep, a marine science major from New Market, Va., was presented with the Ronald D. Lackey Service Award. Named in honor of the late University professor and chaplain, the award is given annually to a senior who has served the University through involvement and leadership in campus organizations.

The list of winners also included:

Student Government Association Awards

* SGA Legislation of the Year: Robert Albert, a finance/resort and tourism major from Annandale, Va. Albert introduced a bill that would reduce the price for a replacement student I.D.

* SGA Rising Senator of the Year: Sydni Donellan, a middle level education major from Conway.

* SGA Chad Michael Beaty Senator of the Year: Chris Cochran, a history major from Conway.

* SGA Patricia Singleton-Young Student Advocate Award: Andy Hendrick, an associate professor of marketing and tourism.

Greek Organization Awards

* Greek Organization President of the Year: Kaitlyn Casamassa, an exercise and sports science major from Emmaus, Pa.

* Greek Organization Advisor of the Year: Erika Pomerantz, an admissions counselor at CCU.

* Most Improved Greek Organization: Alpha Xi Delta.

* Greek Leadership and Chapter Development: Alpha Delta Pi.

* Omicron Delta Kappa Honors Society Circle Leader of the Year: Jennifer Kisabeth, a marine science major from Bowling Green, Ohio.

* ODK Honors Society Undergraduate Leader of the Year: Ian Detweiler, a political science major from Greene, N.Y.

* ODK Honors Society Service Award: Alyssa Scott, an English major from Salisbury, Md.

* Living the Ritual Greek Organization Award, Outstanding Community Service and Greek On-Campus Involvement: Pi Kappa Phi.

* Greek Organization Philanthropy: Gamma Phi Beta.

* SGA and Fraternity/Sorority Life: A collaboration of the Homecoming Bonfire and Battle of the Bands.

Other awards that were presented were:

* The Bell Tower Award (Program of the Year): Colleges Against Cancer and Student Organization Philanthropy for Relay for Life 2011.

* Student Organization of the Year: Coastal Activities Board (C.A.B.).

* Student Organization Community Service: Students Taking Active Responsibility (S.T.A.R.).

* Sports Club of the Year: The Inline Hockey Team

* Leadership Challenge: Diversity Program of the Year: Cultural Celebration.

* Haven Hart Impact Award: Carrie Eberly, an accounting major from Farmville, Va.

* Student Leader of the Year and Student Organization President: Joey Grosso, a recreational and sports management major from Fredon, N.J.

* Rising Leader of the Year and Individual Community Service: Chelsea Leander, undeclared from Matthews, N.C.

* Unsung Hero: Breelyn Hammerle, a mathematics major from Bellmawr, N.J.

* Student Organization Advisee of the Year: Porter Medley, director of conference services.

* Council Officer of the Year: Alyssa James, an English major from Myrtle Beach.

* Living the Ritual: Allison Roof, a communication major from Gilbert.

* Best New Mentor: Megan Gaynor, an elementary education major from Wyomissing, Pa.

* Mentor of the Year: Mark Gillespie, undeclared from Nellis, W. Va.

* Most Consistent Mentor: Shannon Slattery, an elementary education major from Brick, N.J.

* Peer Leader of the Year: Benjamin Counts, a political science major from North Myrtle Beach.

* Tutor of the Year: Samantha Wright, a marine science major from Bel Air, Md.

* Leadership Challenge Award: Melvin Hardy, a marine science major from Sumter.

* Resident Assistant of the Year: Victoria Morais, a business administration major from Myrtle Beach.

* Resident Director of the Year: Bryan Ensel, resident director for university housing.

* Student Affairs Division Award: Robert Jenkot, an associate professor of psychology and sociology.

* Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellow: Jimmy Marino